2004 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Read, Hamilton (109th), Eaton, Akins, Aldridge, Arinder, Baker (74th), Baker (8th), Barnett, Beckett, Bentz, Blackmon, Bondurant, Bounds, Broomfield, Brown, Buck, Burnett, Capps, Carlton, Chism, Clark, Clarke, Coleman (29th), Compretta, Cummings, Davis, Dedeaux, Denny, Ellington, Espy, Fillingane, Flaggs, Fleming, Formby, Franks, Fredericks, Frierson, Gadd, Gibbs, Green, Guice, Gunn, Hamilton (6th), Harrison, Hines, Holland, Holloway, Horne, Howell, Huddleston, Hudson, Ishee, Janus, Jennings, Lott, Malone, Markham, Martinson, Masterson, Mayhall, Mayo, McBride, McCoy, Middleton, Miles, Mims, Moak, Montgomery, Moody, Moore, Morris, Moss, Nicholson, Parker, Patterson, Peranich, Pierce, Reed, Reeves, Robinson (63rd), Robinson (84th), Rogers (14th), Rogers (61st), Rotenberry, Scott, Simpson, Smith (27th), Smith (39th), Smith (59th), Staples, Stevens, Straughter, Stringer, Sullivan, Taylor, Thomas, Turner, Upshaw, Vince, Ward, Warren, Watson, Weathersby, Wells-Smith, Whittington, Woods, Zuber

House Concurrent Resolution 106

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, Mr. Eric Shows was nominated and awarded a very prestigious Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program Award; and

     WHEREAS, the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program was established by Congress in 1986 to honor Senator Barry M. Goldwater who served his country for 56 years as a soldier and statesman, including 30 years of service in the United States Senate; and

     WHEREAS, the purpose of the Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program is to provide a continuing source of highly qualified scientists, mathematicians and engineers by awarding scholarships to college students who intend to pursue careers in these fields; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Shows was selected to receive one of the approximately 300 Barry M. Goldwater Scholarships awarded to students nationwide out of thousands of applications; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Shows attended South Jones High School, where he was salutatorian of his class, a star student, a member of the Hall of Fame, a National Merit Semifinalist and the student with the highest ACT score of 32 in his class; and

     WHEREAS, currently, Mr. Shows is a junior at Mississippi State University studying biochemistry with a perfect 4.0 grade point average and is first in his class of more than 2,500 students; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Shows has been a member of the University Honors Program and under this program has received the University Honors Program Outstanding Sophomore Award, University Honors Program Outstanding Service Award and the University Honors Program Outstanding Overall Student Award; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Shows has been honored for numerous academic achievements through the many scholarships he has been awarded, such as, the Mississippi Eminent Scholars Grant, the Robert C. Byrd Honors Scholarship, the National Honorary Beta Club Scholarship and an Education Service Foundation Scholarship; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Shows is an active member of many academic organizations including Phi Kappa Phi National Honor Society; Golden Key International Honor Society and serves a Council Chair for the University Honors Council; and

     WHEREAS, throughout his high school and college career, Mr. Shows has been recognized for academic excellence by being named to the National Dean's List; being selected as a Mississippi State University President's List Scholar and being named as a Phi Kappa Phi Sophomore Honoree; and

     WHEREAS, in addition, Mr. Shows was recognized for his outstanding service and academic achievements by being named the Youth of the Year for Jones County in 2001; and

     WHEREAS, after graduating from Mississippi State University, Mr. Shows plans to pursue a doctoral degree in biochemical and molecular toxicology; and

     WHEREAS, Mr. Shows has been lovingly supported in all his academic endeavors by his family, especially his parents, State Representative Bobby and Sandra Shows; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and commend outstanding young students, such as, Mr. Shows who has proven his dedication and commitment to academic excellence through his many awards and achievements:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend Mr. Eric Shows upon receiving a Barry M. Goldwater Scholarship and Excellence in Education Program Award and express our sincerest wishes for continued success in all his future academic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Mr. Eric Shows and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.