2004 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Harrison, Scott, Bailey, Chism, Clarke, Dickson, Ellis, Espy, Fredericks, Gadd, Gibbs, Holloway, Huddleston, McBride, Moore, Nicholson, Pierce, Reed, Reynolds, Robinson (84th), Smith (39th), Thomas, Watson, Whittington

House Concurrent Resolution 44

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, honorees of the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers were inducted on December 5, 2003, at the Mississippi University for Women; and

     WHEREAS, the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers began in the hearts and minds of those who know and respect great teachers; and

     WHEREAS, after two years of planning, the concept received the official endorsement of the Governor's Office, the Mississippi Department of Education and the Board of Trustees of Institutions of Higher Learning in 1989; and

     WHEREAS, established on the campus of Mississippi University for Women, the Hall of Master Teachers held its inaugural induction ceremony in 1991; and

     WHEREAS, the Hall now has 77 members, including graduates of almost every teacher education program in Mississippi and several from other states; and

     WHEREAS, the following members were inducted as the Class of 2003:  Patricia Atkins, a fourth grade teacher at East Corinth Elementary; Gail Hammond, a gifted teacher at Northwest Rankin Middle School in Brandon; Lynn Jones, a second grade teacher at Northwest Rankin Elementary in Brandon; Nettie Mayatt, a retired life science teacher at West Lauderdale High School; Nancy Ray, a gifted teacher at Popular Springs Elementary in Meridian; and Cathy Stewart, a retired first and second grade teacher at Lafayette County Schools; and

     WHEREAS, the following teachers were also honored as finalists:  Anita Boyd, a speech and journalism teacher at R.H. Watkins High School in Laurel; Mary Hardy, an educational provider at Stern Enhancement School in Greenville; Sherrill Wiygul, a biology teacher at Starkville High; and Mitzi Younger, a second grade teacher at New Hope Elementary in Columbus; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature to recognize and commend outstanding educators such as these honorees, who have dedicated their lives and careers to educating our children, who are the future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate each of these honorees of the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers and express our deepest appreciation for their dedication and commitment to educating our children.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to each of the honorees, Mississippi University for Women and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.