By: Senator(s) Frazier, Harden

To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 69

1 2 3	A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PROVINE HIGH SCHOOL "RAMS" BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM FOR ITS OUTSTANDING 2002-2003 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE CLASS 4A STATE BASKETBALL CHAMPIONSHIP
4	WHEREAS, the Provine High School "Rams" Boys Basketball Team
5	finished the 2002-2003 season with an outstanding record of 26-5
6	and captured the Class 4A State Championship in a thrilling
7	victory over Lanier High School, which resulted in their being
8	ranked No. 1 in The Clarion-Ledger poll; and
9	WHEREAS, along the way to their State Championship, the Rams
10	won the Class 4A District Championship and were runners-up in the
11	Class 4A North State Championship; and
12	WHEREAS, the Rams were marvelously coached and inspired by
13	Head Coach Luther Riley and Assistant Coaches Randy Bolden and
14	Spencer Gatlin, who have broadened the players' knowledge of the
15	game and cultivated their skills in execution; and
16	WHEREAS, Coach Riley has brought additional honor to himself
17	and to Provine High School by being selected as Coach of the Week
18	and Metro Jackson's Coach of the Year; and
19	WHEREAS, several of the Rams have been recognized for their
20	hard work, dedication and superior play this season, including the
21	selection of Jeff Webb, Charlie White, and Jeremy Young to the
22	All-State, All-District, and All-North State Teams; and
23	WHEREAS, many other individual honors have been bestowed
24	upon various team members, such as the selection of Jeff Webb as a
25	player in the Mississippi/Alabama All-Star Game, as a McDonald's

All-American nominee, and as a member of the Jackson Public

School/Pepsi All-Tournament Team, and the naming of Charlie White

26

27

- 28 as Player of the Year, as Most Valuable Player in the District and
- 29 as a member of the Jackson Public School/Pepsi All-Tournament
- 30 Team; and
- 31 WHEREAS, the Provine High School Rams Boys Basketball Team,
- 32 which consists of Charlie White, Derrick Thomas, Jarvis Williams,
- 33 DeAngelo Edwards, Earnesto Green, Derrick Smith, Ladario Ward,
- 34 Robert Hough, John Parker, Jeffery Webb, Jr., Jeremy Young,
- 35 Willicent Seymour, Allen Blackmon and William Jones, have
- 36 developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a superb degree of
- 37 sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great
- 38 credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring
- 39 great honor to Provine High School; and
- 40 WHEREAS, it is with pride that we recognize the special
- 41 accomplishment of this group of student athletes who have brought
- 42 honor to their school, their community and to the State of
- 43 Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 45 MISSISSIPPI, That we commend and congratulate the Provine High
- 46 School Rams Boys Basketball Team and Coach Luther Riley for their
- 47 outstanding 2002-2003 season, for winning the Class 4A State
- 48 Basketball Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to
- 49 their athletic endeavors.
- 50 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 51 furnished to Provine High School, Coach Luther Riley, his
- 52 assistant coaches, and members of the Capitol Press Corps.