To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Gollott, Dawkins, Hewes,

Cuevas

27

28

S. R. No.

PAGE 1

03/SS26/R1074

7

SENATE RESOLUTION NO.

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE D'IBERVILLE 1 HIGH SCHOOL "WARRIORS" FOOTBALL TEAM AND HEAD COACH LOUIS SMITH 2 3 FOR THEIR FIRST CLASS AAAA STATE CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR THEIR IMPRESSIVE 2002 SEASON. 4 5 WHEREAS, Carlton Cotten ran for 233 yards on 33 carries and three touchdowns as the D'Iberville High School "Warriors" 6 Football Team turned a close contest into a rout, winning their 7 first Class AAAA State Football Championship with a 33-7 victory 8 9 over West Point High School in the championship game in Jackson, Mississippi; and 10 WHEREAS, this D'Iberville "Warriors" team was the first 11 school from Harrison County to claim a state football title since 12 the inception of the present playoff system in 1981; and 13 WHEREAS, the Warriors had to bounce back from a 14 season-opening loss to Harrison Central and had to prove 15 themselves week after week, as they finished the 2002 season with 16 a 13-game winning streak and set a school record with 13 17 18 victories; and WHEREAS, this excellent team won their Class AAAA Division 19 and Class AAAA South State Regional Tournament championships on 20 their way to the state title, and reached the title game with a 21 heart-stopping 20-17 victory against George County; and 22 WHEREAS, the 2002 State Championship Team included the 23 following members: #5 Brandon Seymour, #6 Jake Olier, #7 Sean 24 Surginer, #8 Jared Landrum, #10 Jason Hockaday, #11 Donald Noble, 25 26 #12 Chris Mabou, #13 Shane Wynn, #14 Joe Seidule, #15 Cory

Bateaste, #16 Wesley Ladner, #18 Nick Ladner, #19 Brett Palmer,

#20 Jeremiah Fish, #21 Tommy Searight, #22 Jeffrey Kovacevich, #23

N1/2

- 29 Robby Ellis, #24 Darren McCaleb, #25 Mark Gonsoulin, #28 Gregory
- 30 Gollott, #30 Pete Jones, #31 Jeffrey Thomas, #32 Sean Cook, #33
- 31 Carlton Cotton, #35 Clarence Cotton, #36 John Hodgeson, #38 Derek
- 32 Bryant, #44 Austin Holley, #48 Richard Perdue, #49 John Davis, #50
- 33 Brandon Smith, #52 Zack Grady, #54 Josh Williams, #55 Jonathan
- Parker; #56 Kofi Gordon, #58 Delmas Holley, #59 A.J. Petrucci, #60
- 35 Trey Christenson, #61 Dexter King, #62 Chris Martin, #64 Easu
- 36 Smith, #65 Lester Baldwin, #66 Joshua Hickman, #68 Keith Miller,
- 37 #72 Matthew Carr, #76 Jared Gale, #77 Sean McQueen, #78 Josh
- 38 Ladner, #80 Frank Schatzman, #81 Adam Kendrick, #82 Jordan
- 39 Fountain, #83 Corey Varnado, #84 Dee McGee, #85 Cliffey Roberts,
- 40 #86 Stephen Reeves, #87 David Harkey, #88 Robert Schatzman, #89
- 41 Joel Walker and #99 Sean Merrill; and
- WHEREAS, the Warriors Football Team was ably led by Head
- 43 Coach Louis Smith and Assistant Coaches Eddie Wayne Whitehead,
- 44 Brad Talley, Keith Marsland, Ted Williams, Glenn Gehrmann and Brad
- 45 Pickich, who began the season emphasizing a strong defense and
- 46 ended the championship tournament with a record-setting offense;
- 47 and
- WHEREAS, the seniors on the 2002 Warriors, which included
- 49 quarterback Nick Ladner and tailback Carlton Cotten, has won 31 of
- 50 38 games in the last three years and are 23-3 during the last two
- 51 seasons, and the state title culminates a dream season; and
- 52 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the special
- 53 accomplishment of this group of student athletes, who have brought
- 54 honor to their school, their community and to the State of
- 55 Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 57 MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the
- 58 D'Iberville High School "Warriors" Football Team and Coach Louis
- 59 Smith for their first Class AAAA State Championship and their
- 60 impressive 2002 regular season.

- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution shall
- 62 be presented to Coach Smith and the Principal of D'Iberville High
- 63 School on behalf of the team and be made available to the Sun
- 64 Herald and the Capitol Press Corps.