By: Senator(s) Harden, Burton

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 541

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA
2	KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF
3	"MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
4	WHEREAS, on March 18, 2003, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an
5	esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which
5	has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will

- 7 celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and
- 8 WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
- 9 outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's
- 10 All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful
- 11 community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi
- 12 State Board for Community and Junior Colleges to participate in
- 13 the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team Competition;
- 14 and
- 15 WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
- 16 members of the 2002 All-Mississippi Academic Team: Queen Blue,
- 17 Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Chen Fung, Copiah-Lincoln
- 18 Community College in Natchez; Matthew Willis, Copiah-Lincoln
- 19 Community College in Natchez; Jessica Phillips, Copiah-Lincoln
- 20 Community College in Wesson; David Russell, Copiah-Lincoln
- 21 Community College in Wesson; Jimmy Hall, East Central Community
- 22 College in Decatur; Christopher Hall, East Central Community
- 23 College in Decatur; Mary Power, East Mississippi Community College
- 24 in Scooba; George Spinks, East Mississippi Community College in
- 25 Scooba; Lavonne Johnson, East Mississippi Community College in
- 26 Mayhew; Shawn Robinson, East Mississippi Community College in
- 27 Mayhew; Jeannette Robinson Taylor, Hinds Community College in

- Jackson; Cynthia Wheat, Hinds Community College in Jackson; Marcy 28
- Evans-Guthrie, Hinds Community College (Nursing/Allied Health) in 29
- Jackson; Kayed Jwainat, Hinds Community College (Nursing/Allied 30
- Health) in Jackson; Michael Gunter, Hinds Community College in 31
- 32 Pearl; Rebecca Rennert, Hinds Community College in Pearl; Jennifer
- 33 Cox, Hinds Community College in Raymond; Shawn Stogsdill, Hinds
- Community College in Raymond; Carrie Colston, Hinds Community 34
- College in Utica; Kamekia Stimage, Hinds Community College in 35
- Utica; Alicia Abernathy, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; 36
- Monica Ramsey, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; Breck 37
- 38 Richardson, Holmes Community College in Goodman; Sara Shrock,
- Holmes Community College in Goodman; Larry Franklin, Holmes 39
- 40 Community College in Grenada; Benjamin Russell, Holmes Community
- College in Grenada; Brandon Dyer, Holmes Community College in 41
- Ridgeland; David Sarton, Holmes Community College in Ridgeland; 42
- Melissa Marion, Itawamba Community College in Fulton; James 43
- Matthews, Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Thomas Campbell, 44
- 45 Itawamba Community College in Tupelo; Emily Morris, Itawamba
- Community College in Tupelo; Kristi Armour, Jones County Junior 46
- 47 College in Ellisville; Emily Cain, Jones County Junior College in
- Ellisville; Stephen Bergin, Meridian Community College in 48
- 49 Meridian; Anderson Thomas, Meridian Community College in Meridian;
- Kristin Barner, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead; 50
- Joe Johnson III, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead; 51
- 52 Ashley Miller, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in
- Gautier; Carole Stuart, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College 53
- 54 in Gautier; Jenetta Owen, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
- in Gulfport; Tammy Stefanini, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community 55
- College in Gulfport; Matthew Guidry, Mississippi Gulf Coast 56
- 57 Community College in Perkinston; Jennifer Shook, Mississippi Gulf
- Coast Community College in Perkinston; Nimesh Patel, Northeast 58
- 59 Mississippi Community College in Booneville; Amanda Hentz,
- Northwest Mississippi Community College in Senatobia; Courtney 60

- 61 Lange, Northwest Mississippi Community College in Senatobia; Laura
- 62 Keeton, Pearl River Community College in Poplarville; Danielle
- 63 Wheat, Pearl River Community College in Poplarville; Nicole
- 64 McMorris, Southwest Mississippi Community College in Summit;
- 65 Bethany White, Southwest Mississippi Community College in Summit;
- 66 and
- WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- 68 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
- 69 intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination to achieving
- 70 academic excellence; and
- 71 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- 72 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for
- 73 them and their academic institutions the respect and admiration of
- 74 this Legislature; and
- 75 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 76 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young
- 77 people of our state, who are its future:
- 78 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 79 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 80 we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of Phi Theta
- 81 Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team on the occasion of
- 82 "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day" and extend our heartiest wishes
- 83 for success in all their future endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 85 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- 86 Press Corps.