By: Senator(s) Gollott, Dawkins, Hewes

To: Rules

## SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 523

1	A CONCURREN	IT RESOLUT	rion commi	ENDING AND	CONGRATUI	LATING	$\mathrm{THE}$	
2	D'IBERVILLE HIGH	SCHOOL '	'WARRIORS'	' FOOTBALL	TEAM AND	HEAD (	COACH	
3	LOUIS SMITH FOR	THEIR FIR	RST CLASS	AAAA STATE	CHAMPION	ISHIP A	AND FOR	ζ
4	THEIR IMPRESSIVE	2002 SEA	ASON.					

- 5 WHEREAS, Carlton Cotten ran for 233 yards on 33 carries and
- 6 three touchdowns as the D'Iberville High School "Warriors"
- 7 Football Team turned a close contest into a rout, winning their
- 8 first Class AAAA State Football Championship with a 33-7 victory
- 9 over West Point High School in the championship game in Jackson,
- 10 Mississippi; and
- 11 WHEREAS, this D'Iberville "Warriors" team was the first
- 12 school from Harrison County to claim a state football title since
- 13 the inception of the present playoff system in 1981; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the Warriors had to bounce back from a
- 15 season-opening loss to Harrison Central and had to prove
- 16 themselves week after week, as they finished the 2002 season with
- 17 a 13-game winning streak and set a school record with 13
- 18 victories; and
- 19 WHEREAS, this excellent team won their Class AAAA Division
- 20 and Class AAAA South State Regional Tournament championships on
- 21 their way to the state title, and reached the title game with a
- 22 heart-stopping 20-17 victory against George County; and
- 23 WHEREAS, the 2002 State Championship Team included the
- 24 following members: #5 Brandon Seymour, #6 Jake Olier, #7 Sean
- 25 Surginer, #8 Jared Landrum, #10 Jason Hockaday, #11 Donald Noble,
- 26 #12 Chris Mabou, #13 Shane Wynn, #14 Joe Seidule, #15 Cory
- 27 Bateaste, #16 Wesley Ladner, #18 Nick Ladner, #19 Brett Palmer,
- 28 #20 Jeremiah Fish, #21 Tommy Searight, #22 Jeffrey Kovacevich, #23

523

- 29 Robby Ellis, #24 Darren McCaleb, #25 Mark Gonsoulin, #28 Gregory
- 30 Gollott, #30 Pete Jones, #31 Jeffrey Thomas, #32 Sean Cook, #33
- 31 Carlton Cotton, #35 Clarence Cotton, #36 John Hodgeson, #38 Derek
- 32 Bryant, #44 Austin Holley, #48 Richard Perdue, #49 John Davis, #50
- 33 Brandon Smith, #52 Zack Grady, #54 Josh Williams, #55 Jonathan
- Parker; #56 Kofi Gordon, #58 Delmas Holley, #59 A.J. Petrucci, #60
- 35 Trey Christenson, #61 Dexter King, #62 Chris Martin, #64 Easu
- 36 Smith, #65 Lester Baldwin, #66 Joshua Hickman, #68 Keith Miller,
- 37 #72 Matthew Carr, #76 Jared Gale, #77 Sean McQueen, #78 Josh
- 38 Ladner, #80 Frank Schatzman, #81 Adam Kendrick, #82 Jordan
- 39 Fountain, #83 Corey Varnado, #84 Dee McGee, #85 Cliffey Roberts,
- 40 #86 Stephen Reeves, #87 David Harkey, #88 Robert Schatzman, #89
- 41 Joel Walker and #99 Sean Merrill; and
- WHEREAS, the Warriors Football Team was ably led by Head
- 43 Coach Louis Smith and Assistant Coaches Eddie Wayne Whitehead,
- 44 Brad Talley, Keith Marsland, Ted Williams, Glenn Gehrmann and Brad
- 45 Pickich, who began the season emphasizing a strong defense and
- 46 ended the championship tournament with a record-setting offense;
- 47 and
- WHEREAS, the seniors on the 2002 Warriors, which included
- 49 quarterback Nick Ladner and tailback Carlton Cotten, has won 31 of
- 50 38 games in the last three years and are 23-3 during the last two
- 51 seasons, and the state title culminates a dream season; and
- 52 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the special
- 53 accomplishment of this group of student athletes, who have brought
- 54 honor to their school, their community and to the State of
- 55 Mississippi:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
- 57 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That
- 58 we do hereby commend and congratulate the D'Iberville High School
- 59 "Warriors" Football Team and Coach Louis Smith for their first
- 60 Class AAAA State Championship and their impressive 2002 regular
- 61 season.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution shall be presented to Coach Smith and the Principal of D'Iberville High School on behalf of the team and be made available to the Sun Herald and the Capitol Press Corps.