By: Senator(s) Chaney, Nunnelee

To: Elections

## AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 23-15-1037, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, 1 TO REDISTRICT THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS OF THE STATE IN 2 3 CONFORMITY WITH THE ORDER OF THE UNITED STATES DISTRICT COURT FOR THE SOUTHERN DISTRICT OF MISSISSIPPI IN THE CASE OF SMITH V. 4 CLARK, CIVIL ACTION NO. 3:01-CV-855WS; TO REPEAL SECTION 23-15-1039, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, WHICH PROVIDES HOW 5 6 7 REPRESENTATIVES SHALL BE CHOSEN SHOULD AN ELECTION OF REPRESENTATIVES IN CONGRESS OCCUR AFTER THE NUMBER OF REPRESENTATIVES TO WHICH THE STATE IS ENTITLED SHALL BE CHANGED, 8 9 IN CONSEQUENCE OF A NEW APPORTIONMENT BEING MADE BY CONGRESS, AND 10 BEFORE THE DISTRICTS SHALL HAVE BEEN CHANGED TO CONFORM TO THE NEW 11 APPORTIONMENT; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES. 12

SENATE BILL NO. 2692

BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI: **SECTION 1.** Section 23-15-1037, Mississippi Code of 1972, is amended as follows:

16 23-15-1037. (1) The State of Mississippi is hereby divided 17 into five (5) congressional districts as follows:

18 FIRST DISTRICT. The First Congressional District shall be

19 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:

20 Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, DeSoto,

21 Grenada, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe,

22 Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, \* \* \*

23 Yalobusha; \* \* \* that portion of Webster County not in the Third

24 <u>Congressional District; and in Winston County the Precinct of Gum</u> 25 Branch.

SECOND DISTRICT. The Second Congressional District shall be 26 27 composed of the following counties and portions of counties: Attala, Bolivar, Carroll, Claiborne, Coahoma, Copiah, Holmes, 28 Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Leflore, Montgomery, Quitman, 29 30 Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Yazoo; \* \* \* in Hinds County Precincts 1, 10, 11, 12, 13, 15, 16, 31 18, 19, 2, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 38, 39, 32 G1/2S. B. No. 2692

```
03/SS26/R676
PAGE 1
```

33 4, 40, 41, 42, 43, 47, 5, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 34 6, 60, 61, 62, 63, 64, 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 35 77, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, and 97, and the precincts of Bolton, Brownsville, Byram 1, 36 37 Byram 2, Cayuga, Chapel Hill, Clinton 1, Clinton 2, Clinton 3, 38 Clinton 4, Clinton 5, Clinton 6, Cynthia, Dry Grove, Edwards, 39 Jackson State, Learned, Old Bryam, Pine Haven, Pocahontas, Raymond 1, Raymond 2, Spring Ridge, St. Thomas, Terry, Tinnin, Utica 1 and 40 Utica 2; in Leake County the precincts of Conway, East Carthage, 41 North Carthage, Ofahoma, Singleton, South Carthage, Thomastown, 42 43 West Carthage and Wiggins; in Madison County the precincts of \* \* \* Bible Church, Camden, Cameron, Canton Precinct 7, Canton 44 45 Precinct 1, Canton Precinct 2, Canton Precinct 3, Canton Precinct 4, Canton Precinct 5, Couparle, Gluckstadt, Liberty, Luther 46 Branson School, Madison County Baptist Family Life Center, 47 Magnolia Heights, New Industrial Park, Sharon, Tougaloo, and 48 49 Virlilia \* \* \*. 50 THIRD DISTRICT. The Third Congressional District shall be composed of the following counties and portions of counties: 51 52 Adams, Amite, Covington, Franklin, \* \* \* Jefferson Davis, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Lincoln, \* \* \* Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, 53 54 Oktibbeha, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall, Wilkinson \* \* \*; that portion of Hinds County not included in the 55 56 Second Congressional District; in Jasper County the precincts of 57 Bay Springs Beat 3, Bay Springs Beat 4, Garlandsville, Holders Church, Louin and Montrose; in Jones County the precincts of 58 59 Bruce, Centerville and Hebron \* \* \*; that portion of Leake County not included in the Second Congressional District; that portion of 60 Madison County not included in the Second Congressional 61 District; \* \* \* in Marion County the precincts of Broom, Carley, 62 Cedar Grove, Darbun, Foxworth, Goss, Kokomo, Morgantown, Pittman, 63 64 Stovall and White Bluff; in Webster County the precinct of Maben;

S. B. No. 2692 03/SS26/R676 PAGE 2 65 and that portion of Winston County not included in the First

66 Congressional District.

FOURTH DISTRICT. The Fourth Congressional District shall be 67 68 composed of the following counties and portions of counties: 69 Clarke, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, 70 Lamar, Pearl River, Perry, Stone, Wayne; that portion of Jasper County not included in the Third Congressional District; \* \* \* 71 that portion of Jones County not included in the Third 72 Congressional District; and that portion of Marion County not 73 included in the Third Congressional District. 74

75 \* \* \*

(2) The boundaries of the congressional districts described
in subsection (1) of this section shall be the boundaries of the
counties along such congressional district boundaries as the
boundaries of such counties existed on January 1, 2003, and the
precinct boundaries along such congressional district boundaries
as such precinct boundaries are contained in Census 2000

82 redistricting maps (Public Law 94-171) TIGER line file.

83 SECTION 2. Section 23-15-1039, Mississippi Code of 1972, 84 which provides how representatives shall be chosen should an 85 election of representatives in Congress occur after the number of 86 representatives to which the state is entitled shall be changed, 87 in consequence of a new apportionment being made by Congress, and 88 before the districts shall have been changed to conform to the new 89 apportionment, is repealed.

90 SECTION 3. The Attorney General of the State of Mississippi 91 shall submit this act, immediately upon approval by the Governor, 92 or upon approval by the Legislature subsequent to a veto, to the 93 Attorney General of the United States or to the United States 94 District Court for the District of Columbia in accordance with the 95 provisions of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended and 96 extended.

S. B. No. 2692 03/SS26/R676 PAGE 3 97 **SECTION 4**. This act shall take effect and be in force from 98 and after the date it is effectuated under Section 5 of the Voting 99 Rights Act of 1965, as amended and extended.