By: Representatives Chism, Harrison, Smith To: Rules (39th)

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 13

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE NEW HOPE HIGH SCHOOL VARSITY 2 CHEERLEADERS FOR WINNING FIRST PLACE IN THE CLASS 4A DIVISION AT 3 THE MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION'S STATE 4 CHEERLEADING CHAMPIONSHIPS.

5 WHEREAS, the New Hope High School Varsity Cheerleaders won 6 First Place in the Class 4A Division at the Mississippi High 7 School Activities Association's State Cheerleading Championships 8 on December 14, 2002; and

9 WHEREAS, in addition to winning this year's championship, the 10 New Hope Varsity Cheerleaders became the first 4A school to win 11 two consecutive state championships; and

12 WHEREAS, the 2002-2003 New Hope Varsity Cheerleaders include 13 Lauren Atkins, Whitney Brock, Megan Creegen, Stephenie Elmore, 14 Michelle Flynn, Courtney Fondren, Lindzey Hardin, Stephanie 15 Hughes, Ashley Newell, Briana Reynolds, Shelbi Richards, Carlee 16 Robertson, Neesy Sanders, Ashley Studdard, Dori Vaughn, Renee Wall 17 and Bethany Wilkerson; and

18 WHEREAS, the New Hope Varsity Cheerleaders have been superbly 19 coached and inspired by Sponsor Darylann Hardin, who has broadened 20 the cheerleaders' knowledge of the cheerleading competition and 21 refined their skills in execution; and

22 WHEREAS, the New Hope Varsity Cheerleaders spend countless 23 hours per week practicing their elite stunts, dance routines and 24 cheers in addition to cheering at sporting events; and

25 WHEREAS, the New Hope Varsity Cheerleaders have developed a 26 winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, 27 and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the

H. R. No. 13 03/HR07/R1354 PAGE 1 (DJ\HS) 28 individual cheerleaders and their coach and bring honor to New 29 Hope High School; and

30 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 31 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young 32 people of our state, who are its future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 33 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby 34 commend and congratulate the New Hope High School Varsity 35 Cheerleaders and Sponsor Darylann Hardin, for winning First Place 36 in the Class 4A Division at the Mississippi High School Activities 37 38 Association's State Cheerleading Championship, for becoming the first 4A school to win two consecutive state championships, and 39 for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors. 40 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 41

41 BE II FORTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
42 furnished to New Hope High School, Sponsor Darylann Hardin and
43 members of the Capitol Press Corps.