By: Representatives Young, Barnett (92nd), Warren

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 80

1	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA
2	KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF
3	"MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
4	WHEREAS, on March 18, 2003, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an

- esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges that has 5
- its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will 6
- celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and 7
- 8 WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
- outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's 9
- All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful 10
- community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi 11
- 12 State Board for Community and Junior Colleges to participate in
- 13 the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition;
- 14 and
- 15 WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
- members of the 2002 All-Mississippi Academic Team: Queen Blue, 16
- Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Chen Fung and Matthew 17
- 18 Willis, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Jessica
- Phillips and David Russell, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in 19
- 20 Wesson; Jimmy Hall and Christopher Hall, East Central Community
- 21 College in Decatur; Mary Power and George Spinks, East Mississippi
- 22 Community College in Scooba; Lavonne Johnson and Shawn Robinson,
- East Mississippi Community College in Mayhew; Jeannette Robinson 23
- Taylor and Cynthia Wheat, Hinds Community College in Jackson; 24
- Marcy Evans-Guthrie and Kayed Jwainat, Hinds Community College 25
- 26 (Nursing/Allied Health) in Jackson; Michael Gunter and Rebecca
- 27 Rennert, Hinds Community College in Pearl; Jennifer Cox and Shawn

- 28 Stogsdill, Hinds Community College in Raymond; Carrie Colston and
- 29 Kamekia Stimage, Hinds Community College in Utica; Alicia
- 30 Abernathy and Monica Ramsey, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg;
- 31 Breck Richardson and Sara Shrock, Holmes Community College in
- 32 Goodman; Larry Franklin and Benjamin Russell, Holmes Community
- 33 College in Grenada; Brandon Dyer and David Sarton, Holmes
- 34 Community College in Ridgeland; Melissa Marion and James Matthews,
- 35 Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Thomas Campbell and Emily
- 36 Morris, Itawamba Community College in Tupelo; Kristi Armour and
- 37 Emily Cain, Jones County Junior College in Ellisville; Stephen
- 38 Bergin and Anderson Thomas, Meridian Community College in
- 39 Meridian; Kristin Barner and Joe Johnson, III, Mississippi Delta
- 40 Community College in Moorhead; Ashley Miller and Carole Stuart,
- 41 Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier; Jenetta Owen
- 42 and Tammy Stefanini, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in
- 43 Gulfport; Matthew Guidry and Jennifer Shook, Mississippi Gulf
- 44 Coast Community College in Perkinston; Nimesh Patel, Northeast
- 45 Mississippi Community College in Booneville; Amanda Hentz and
- 46 Courtney Lange, Northwest Mississippi Community College in
- 47 Senatobia; Laura Keeton and Danielle Wheat, Pearl River Community
- 48 College in Poplarville; Nicole McMorris and Bethany White,
- 49 Southwest Mississippi Community College in Summit; and
- 50 WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- 51 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
- 52 intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination to achieving
- 53 academic excellence; and
- 54 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for
- 56 themselves and their academic institutions the respect and
- 57 admiration of this Legislature; and
- 58 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 59 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young
- 60 people of our state, who are its future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HO	NOW, THEREFORE	, BE	T.T.	RESOLVED	ΒY	THE	HOUSE	OF.
--	----------------	------	------	----------	----	-----	-------	-----

- 62 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 63 THEREIN, That we commend and congratulate the members of Phi Theta
- 64 Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team on the occasion of
- 65 "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day" and extend our heartiest wishes
- 66 for success in all their future endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 68 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- 69 Press Corps.

80