By: Representatives Chism, Harrison, Smith To: Rules (39th)

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 71

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE NEW 1 HOPE LADY TROJAN SLOW PITCH SOFTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THREE 2 3 CONSECUTIVE CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS. 4 WHEREAS, the New Hope High School Lady Trojan Softball Team completed the 2000, 2001 and 2002 seasons with a combined record 5 of 111 wins with only 10 losses; and 6 WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans have become the first team in 4A 7 classification to win three consecutive titles in slow pitch 8 softball, and first in any sport at New Hope to capture a 9 three-peat; and 10 WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans proved unmatched in district play 11 for 2000 with an outstanding district record of 9 and 1, 2001 with 12 13 a record of 8 and 0, and continued their dominance in 2002 with a perfect 7 and 1 record; and 14 WHEREAS, after winning both district tournaments from 2000 15 through 2002, the Lady Trojans ran through the Class 4A ranks by 16 winning both the Class 4A North Championships and the State 17 18 Championships; and

WHEREAS, in the State Championship in 2002, the Lady Trojans easily defeated Northeast Lauderdale 6-3 and 12-2 earning their third straight Class 4A State Championship; and

22 WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans have been superbly coached and 23 inspired by Head Coach Cary Shepherd and Assistant Coaches Kathi 24 Fleming, Wayne Ellis and Ame Robertson, who have broadened the 25 players' knowledge of the game and refined their skills in 26 execution; and

WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon the 27 players, including: the naming of Laura Lee Holman, Rachel 28 Baucom, Courtney Gordon and Ginny Lowery, to the 2002 MHSAA 29 30 All-State Team; the naming of Laura Lee Holman, Ginny Lowery, 31 Shakima Nicholson, Rachel Baucom, Courtney Gordon, Jenna Hale, 32 Jessica Hale, Nikki Petty, Ashley Bush, Tori Harris and Stacie West to the 2002 All-District Team; the naming of Laura Lee Holman 33 as Commercial Dispatch Area Player of the Year; Cary Shepherd as 34 Commercial Dispatch Area Coach of the Year; and the naming of 35 Ginny Lowery, Rachel Baucom, Jenna Hale, Jessica Hale, Shakima 36 37 Nicholson, Stacie West and Courtney Gordon to the Commercial Dispatch All Area 1st Team; and 38

39 WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans and Coach Shepherd, recorded their 40 500th win on September 28, 2002, and finished the season with a 41 thirteen game winning streak, outscoring their opponents 467 to 42 84; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans, ranked number one by the Clarion-Ledger in pre-, post-, and regular season play, have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to New Hope High School; and

WHEREAS, it is a policy of the Legislature of the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence especially when evidenced by the young people of our state, who are its future:

52 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 53 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING 54 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the New Hope 55 High School Lady Trojan Softball Team for winning the State 4A 56 softball championships in 2000, 2001 and 2002, and for displaying 57 tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.

58 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 59 furnished to New Hope High School, Head Coach Cary Shepherd,

H. C. R. No. 71 03/HR40/R1784 PAGE 2 (CTE\BD) Assistant Coaches Kathi Fleming, Wayne Ellis, and Ame Robertsonand to the Capitol Press Corps.