To: Rules

By: Representatives Harrison, Barbour, Chism, Cummings, Dickson, Ellis, Fleming, Hines, Holland, Howell, McCoy, Moss, Roberson, Scott (17th), Smith (35th), Smith (39th), Wallace, Zuber

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 70

1	A CONCURRENT	RESOLUTION	COMMENDING AN	ID CONGRATULATING	THE
2	MISSISSIPPI HALL (OF MASTER TH	EACHERS.		

- WHEREAS, honorees of the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers
- 4 were inducted on January 17, 2003, at the Mississippi University
- 5 for Women; and
- 6 WHEREAS, the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers began in the
- 7 hearts and minds of those who know and respect great teachers; and
- 8 WHEREAS, after two years of planning, the concept received
- 9 the official endorsement of the Governor's Office, the Mississippi
- 10 Department of Education, and the Board of Trustees of Institutions
- 11 of Higher Learning in 1989; and
- 12 WHEREAS, established on the campus of Mississippi University
- 13 for Women, the Hall of Master Teachers held its inaugural
- 14 induction ceremony in 1991; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the Hall now has 61 members, including graduates of
- 16 almost every teacher education program in Mississippi and several
- 17 from other states; and
- 18 WHEREAS, the following members were inducted as the Class of
- 19 2002: Paul M. Cuicchi, a physics teacher at Starkville High
- 20 School; Frankie S. Germany, a reading and math teacher at Neshoba
- 21 Central Middle School in Philadelphia; Lynn Mize, a music teacher
- 22 at Pierce Street Elementary in Tupelo; Judith M. Reynolds, an
- 23 English and Spanish teacher at Clinton High School; Dr. Edna M.
- 24 Waller, a gifted teacher at Magnolia Park Elementary in Ocean
- 25 Springs, Carol Wright, a math teacher at the Weir Attendance
- 26 Center; and

- 27 WHEREAS, the following teachers were also honored as
- 28 finalists: Patricia L. Atkins, a fourth grade teacher at East
- 29 Corinth Elementary; Dr. Janet Littlejohn, a sixth grade and gifted
- 30 teacher at Demonstration Elementary in Columbus; Sandra R. Murphy,
- 31 a fourth and fifth grade teacher at Caledonia Elementary; and
- 32 Olivia J. Sansing, a second grade teacher at Joe Cook Elementary
- 33 in Columbus; and
- 34 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature to recognize and
- 35 commend outstanding educators such as these honorees, who have
- 36 dedicated their lives and careers to educating our children, who
- 37 are the future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 39 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 40 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate each of these
- 41 honorees of the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers and express
- 42 our deepest appreciation for their dedication and commitment to
- 43 educating our children.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 45 furnished to each of the honorees, Mississippi University for
- 46 Women and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.

70