By: Representatives Chism, Ellis, Roberson To: Rules

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 54

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE TEACHERS AND 2 COUNSELORS OF THE STARKVILLE SCHOOL DISTRICT UPON RECEIVING 3 NATIONAL BOARD CERTIFICATION.

WHEREAS, several teachers and counselors in the Starkville
School District recently obtained the honor of receiving National
Board Certification by the United States Department of Education;
and

WHEREAS, the following teachers, representing several area 8 schools, received the Master Teacher Certificate: Lisa Anderson, 9 Diane Clark, Kellie Gartman, Kathy Hester, Cheryl Lipsey, Tempe 10 O'Nan, Pam Pugh and Amy Zitta of Sudduth Elementary; Susan Aycock 11 of Quad County Alternative School; Shelia Bailey, Shelley Bock, 12 13 Diane Campbell, Rosemary Cuicchi, Robert Hamlin, Diana Heineck, Miki Smith, Wanda Vickery and Melissa Staggers of Armstrong Middle 14 School; June Barnett, Paul Cuicchi, Robin Dibble, Bonnie Feig, 15 Martha Friend, Judith Moody, Annie Smith and Sherrill Wiygul of 16 Starkville High School; Tammy Butler, Debra Carter, Helen Kennard, 17 18 Sandra Maynard, Rosemary Shannon of Overstreet Elementary; Barney "Rusty" Coats, Linda Jack and Melinda Young of Millsaps Vocational 19 Center; Jeanine Lark of Henderson Elementary; and Dawn Davis, 20 21 Andee Duett, Margaret Hill, Denise Hosie, Maureen Lang, Nancy Sistrunk and Deborah Vanderford of Ward Stuart Elementary; and 22 WHEREAS, the following counselors received National 23 Certification: Audra Alford of Quad County Alternative School; 24 Lynn Barron of Sudduth Elementary; Linda Davis of Millsaps 25 26 Vocational Center; Asylee Gardner of Henderson Elementary; Susan 27 Keith and Juawice McCormick of Starkville High School; Carol Ann

H. C. R. No. 54 03/HR03/R1135 PAGE 1 (DJ\LH)

Lindsey of Armstrong Middle School; and Penny Sullivan of 28 29 Overstreet Elementary; and

WHEREAS, the following received National Certification of 30 Clinical Competence for Speech Language Pathologist: 31 Theresa 32 Doggett and Brenda Koenig of Sudduth Elementary; Claudia Holcomb

of Ward Stuart Elementary; and Anne Stelios-Wills of Emerson 34 Elementary; and

33

WHEREAS, these educators of the Starkville School District 35 are responsible for preparing and grooming generations of future 36 doctors, lawyers, nurses, politicians, teachers, leaders and role 37 models to face the challenges and victories that the future holds 38 in store for this great nation of ours; and 39

40 WHEREAS, with tireless dedication and loving patience, these educators of the Starkville School District are making Mississippi 41 a greater state by educating our children to become productive, 42 God-fearing, responsible citizens who will write the next chapter 43 44 in the book of Mississippi history; and

45 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to commend excellence especially when evidenced by people who have dedicated 46 47 their lives to developing and cultivating the minds and bodies of the many young Mississippians with whom they come into contact 48 49 during their careers:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 50 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING 51 52 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate all those educators of the Starkville School District who, through their 53 54 diligence and commitment to education, have received National Board Certification. 55

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 56 57 furnished to the Board of Trustees of the Starkville School District and members of the Capitol Press Corps. 58