By: Representatives Chism, Harrison, Smith (39th)

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 53

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING T	THE I	NEW
---	-------	-----

- 2 HOPE LADY TROJAN SLOW PITCH SOFTBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THREE
- 3 CONSECUTIVE CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIPS.
- 4 WHEREAS, the New Hope High School Lady Trojan Softball Team
- 5 completed the 2000, 2001 and 2002 seasons with a combined record
- 6 of 111 wins with only 10 losses; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans have become the first team in 4A
- 8 classification to win three consecutive titles in slow pitch
- 9 softball, and first in any sport at New Hope to capture a
- 10 three-peat; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans proved unmatched in district play
- 12 for 2000 with an outstanding district record of 9 and 1, 2001 with
- 13 a record of 8 and 0, and continued their dominance in 2002 with a
- 14 perfect 7 and 1 record; and
- WHEREAS, after winning both district tournaments from 2000
- 16 through 2002, the Lady Trojans ran through the Class 4A ranks by
- 17 winning both the Class 4A North Championships and the State
- 18 Championships; and
- 19 WHEREAS, in the State Championship in 2002, the Lady Trojans
- 20 easily defeated Neshoba Central 14-10 and 17-5 earning their third
- 21 straight Class 4A State Championship; and
- 22 WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans have been superbly coached and
- 23 inspired by Head Coach Cary Shepherd and Assistant Coaches Kathi
- 24 Fleming, Wayne Ellis and Ame Robertson, who have broadened the
- 25 players knowledge of the game and refined their skills in
- 26 execution; and

PAGE 1 (DJ\BD)

- 27 WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon the
- 28 players, including: the naming of Laura Lee Holman, Rachel
- 29 Baucom, Courtney Gordon and Ginny Lowery, to the 2002 All-State
- 30 Team; the naming of Laura Lee Holman, Ginny Lowery, Shakima
- 31 Nicholson, Rachel Baucom, Courtney Gordon, Jenna Hale, Jessica
- 32 Hale, Nikki Petty, Ashley Bush, Tori Harris and Stacie West to the
- 33 2002 All-District Team; the naming of Laura Lee Holman as
- 34 Commercial Dispatch Area Player of the Year; Cary Shepherd as
- 35 Commercial Dispatch Area Coach of the Year; and the naming of
- 36 Ginny Lowery, Rachel Baucom, Jenna Hale, Jessica Hale, Shakima
- 37 Nicholson, Stacie West and Courtney Gordon to the Commercial
- 38 Dispatch All Area 1st Team; and
- 39 WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans and Coach Shepherd, recorded their
- 40 500th win on September 28, 2002, and finished the season with a
- 41 thirteen game winning streak, outscoring their opponents 467 to
- 42 84; and
- WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans, ranked number one by the
- 44 Clarion-Ledger in pre-, post-, and regular season play, have
- 45 developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of
- 46 sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great
- 47 credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring
- 48 honor to New Hope High School; and
- 49 WHEREAS, it is a policy of the Legislature of the State of
- 50 Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence especially when
- 51 evidenced by the young people of our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 53 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 54 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the New Hope
- 55 High School Lady Trojan Softball Team for winning the State 4A
- 56 softball championships in 2000, 2001 and 2002, and for displaying
- 57 tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 59 furnished to New Hope High School, Head Coach Cary Shepherd,

- 60 Assistant Coaches Kathi Fleming, Wayne Ellis, and Ame Robertson
- 61 and to the Capitol Press Corps.