By: Representatives Chism, Ellis, Gibbs, Harrison, Roberson, Smith (39th)

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 52

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING TH	L	A CONCURR	INT RESOLUTION	COMMENDING	AND	CONGRATULATING	THE
--	---	-----------	----------------	------------	-----	----------------	-----

- 2 BRYAN PACKERS AMERICAN LEGION BASEBALL TEAM FROM WEST POINT,
- 3 MISSISSIPPI, FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING PERFORMANCE IN WINNING THE 2002
- 4 AMERICAN LEGION WORLD SERIES.
- 5 WHEREAS, the Bryan Packers American Legion Baseball Team from
- 6 West Point, Mississippi, is the 2002 Champion of the American
- 7 Legion World Series; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the American Legion baseball program began in 1926
- 9 and is the oldest amateur baseball program in the United States
- 10 and includes 5,300 registered baseball teams; and
- 11 WHEREAS, fifty-five percent of professional baseball players
- 12 and seventy percent of college baseball players played American
- 13 Legion baseball as teenagers; and
- 14 WHEREAS, the West Point team is the first team from
- 15 Mississippi ever to win the American Legion World Series; and
- 16 WHEREAS, a team from Region 4, which includes Mississippi,
- 17 has won the American Legion Championship only twice before, most
- 18 recently in 1968; and
- 19 WHEREAS, the Bryan Packers have won four state titles in the
- 20 past six years; and
- 21 WHEREAS, this North Mississippi team finished the three month
- 22 season with a record of 47-13, and went 12-2 in post-season play;
- 23 and
- 24 WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon the
- 25 players including: Corey Carter, Dusty Snider, Josh Johnson, and
- 26 Jeff Shafer, named members of the All-Tournament Team; Josh
- 27 Johnson named All-Tournament Most Valuable Player and recipient of

- 28 the Bob Feller Pitching award; and Corey Carter received the
- 29 Rawlings Big Stick award; and
- 30 WHEREAS, the Packers' coach, Frank Portera, who started the
- 31 West Point Team nine years ago, won the Jack Williams Memorial
- 32 Leadership award; and
- 33 WHEREAS, the Bryan Packers have been superbly coached and
- 34 inspired by Head Coach Frank Portera and Assistant Coaches Todd
- 35 Stanley and Tyler Bratton, who have broadened the players'
- 36 knowledge of the game and refined their skill in execution; and
- 37 WHEREAS, the Bryan Packers Team is comprised of Head Coach
- 38 Frank Portera, Assistant Coaches Todd Stanley and Tyler Bratton,
- 39 and players Justin Best, Russell Bourland, Corey Carter, Joby
- 40 Garner, Tyler Hunter, Scottie Jacobs, Drew Jaudon, Josh Johnson,
- 41 Lance Martin, Brandon McGarity, Dave Nanney, Brent Patton, John
- 42 Raymond Pitre, Taylor Robertson, Jeff Schafer, Dusty Snider, Chris
- 43 Stamps, and Rod Williams; and
- WHEREAS, in recognition of their great accomplishment, the
- 45 Bryan Packers were honored with a Congressional Proclamation by
- 46 the United States House of Representatives in House Resolution
- 47 542; and
- WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature of the State of
- 49 Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence especially when
- 50 exhibited by the young people of this state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 52 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 53 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Bryan
- 54 Packers American Legion Baseball Team from West Point,
- 55 Mississippi, for their outstanding accomplishment in winning the
- 56 2002 American Legion World Series and for demonstrating excellence
- 57 and character and tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors
- 58 throughout the season.

PAGE 2 (DJ\BD)

- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 60 furnished to Head Coach Frank Portera, Assistant Coaches Todd

- 61 Stanley and Tyler Bratton, Mayor of West Point and members of the
- 62 Capitol Press Corps.