MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Representative Holland

To: Agriculture

HOUSE BILL NO. 1145

AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 69-27-9, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO 1 CONFORM MEMBERSHIP OF THE STATE SOIL AND WATER CONSERVATION 2 3 COMMISSION TO NEW CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS ON A PHASED-IN BASIS; 4 AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI: 5 SECTION 1. Section 69-27-9, Mississippi Code of 1972, is 6 amended as follows: 7 69-27-9. (1) The State Soil and Water Conservation 8 9 Commission shall be constituted as follows: (a) Eleven (11) voting members: 10 The Commissioner of Agriculture and Commerce; 11 (i) (ii) The State Forester; 12 (iii) The President of the Mississippi Association 13 of Soil and Water Conservation District Commissioners; 14 (iv) The first vice president of the association; 15 The second vice president of the association; 16 (v) (vi) The immediate or most recent ex-president of 17 the association willing and able to serve; and 18 (vii) Five (5) members to be elected from the 19 membership of the soil and water conservation district 20 commissioners at the annual meeting of the association, one (1) 21 from each United States congressional district by a caucus of the 22 23 association members from each congressional district as constituted at the time of the caucus, to be elected as follows: 24 First District, one (1) member elected for a one-year term, 25 26 beginning January 1, 1968, and ending January 1, 1969, his successor to be similarly elected at the 1968 annual meeting of 27 the association for a three-year term ending January 1, 1972, and 28 H. B. No. 1145 G1/2 03/HR12/R1176 PAGE 1 (GT\DO)

each successor elected in the succeeding third annual meeting for 29 30 a three-year term; Second District, one (1) member elected for a two-year term beginning January 1, 1968, and ending January 1, 31 1970, his successor to be similarly elected at the 1969 annual 32 33 meeting of the association for a three-year term ending January 1, 34 1973, and each successor elected in the succeeding third annual meeting for a three-year term; Third District, election to be 35 similar to the Second District; Fourth District, one (1) member 36 elected for a three-year term beginning January 1, 1968, and 37 ending January 1, 1971, each successor to be similarly elected at 38 the succeeding third annual meeting for a three-year term; Fifth 39 District, election to be similar to Fourth District; 40

41 (viii) The elected members of the board as constituted on January 15, 2003, shall continue to serve until the expiration 42 of their respective terms. As the terms of the five (5) members 43 expire, the members shall be elected as follows: one (1) member 44 from each congressional district by caucus of the association 45 members from each congressional district as constituted at the 46 time of the caucus and the remainder to be elected from the state 47 at large. The position and term of the member elected from the 48 Third District whose term expires January 1, 2004, shall be the 49 50 term and position of the at large member.

(b) The purpose of the above procedure is to provide that when put into effect, elected members will serve three-year staggered terms. The State Soil and Water Conservation Commission is empowered to adopt and carry out procedures for filling unexpired terms of its elected members. The incumbent will continue to serve until his successor is duly qualified and enters into the duties of his office.

(c) Two (2) members shall serve ex officio and without
voting power, but with all privileges of discussion and debate as
follows:

H. B. No. 1145 03/HR12/R1176 PAGE 2 (GT\DO)

The Director of the State Extension Service; (i) 61 62 and

The Director of the State Agricultural and 63 (ii) 64 Forestry Experimental Station.

65 (d) Such nonvoting ex officio member who, due to the pressure of his other required official duties, believes that he 66 will be unable to regularly attend meetings of the commission 67 shall designate a substitute to attend in his stead with the same 68 rights and privileges that he would have had. 69

The commission shall designate its chairman and vice 70 (2)71 chairman and may from time to time change such designation. majority of the voting members of the commission shall constitute 72 73 a quorum, and the concurrence of a majority in any matter within their duties shall be required for its determination. 74 The voting 75 members of the commission shall receive a per diem at the uniform 76 rate established in Section 25-3-69, Mississippi Code of 1972, for their services on the commission for not more than thirty-six (36) 77 78 days in any one (1) calendar year. In addition, and in the discretion of the commission, all members may be entitled to 79 80 expenses, including traveling expenses, necessarily incurred in the discharge of their duties on the commission, not to exceed the 81 rate established in Section 25-3-41, Mississippi Code of 1972, for 82 state officers and employees. The commission may provide for the 83 execution of surety bonds for all employees and officers who shall 84 85 be entrusted with funds or property, shall provide for the keeping of a full and accurate record of all proceedings and of all 86 87 resolutions, regulations and orders issued or adopted, and shall provide for an annual audit of the accounts of receipts and 88 disbursements by the State Auditor. 89

(3) The commission shall keep a record of its official 90 actions, shall adopt a seal, which seal shall be judicially 91 92 noticed, and may perform such acts, hold such public hearings, and

H. B. No. 1145 03/HR12/R1176 PAGE 3 (GT\DO)

93 promulgate such rules and regulations as may be necessary for the 94 execution of its functions under this article.

95 SECTION 2. This act shall take effect and be in force from 96 and after its passage.