2003 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Ford, Robinson (84th), Brown

House Concurrent Resolution 85

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, Dr. A. Wallace (Wally) Conerly, M.D., will retire from his position as Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, Mississippi, on June 30, 2003; and

     WHEREAS, a member of the Medical Center faculty since 1973, Dr. Conerly served for 13 years as Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs before he assumed his current appointment on August 2, 1994; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly, a professor of medicine, served as Medical Director at the Department of Respiratory Therapy at the University Hospital for 21 years and as Director of the Medical Center Division of Continuing Health Professional Education from 1979 to 1993; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly's medical practice is in the field of chest medicine and critical care; and

     WHEREAS, as the chief executive officer of the state's only academic health science center, Dr. Conerly leads an institution with an annual budget of more than Six Hundred Million Dollars and a yearly payroll for its 7,200 employees of Three Hundred Million Dollars; and 

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly is the chief architect of the medical center's ongoing expansion program, the largest in the history of state higher education, the first phase of which was completed in 1999 and included a new children's hospital, a new women's and infants' hospital, a building for the School of Health Related Professions, an addition to the School of Nursing, a student union, two parking garages and an imaging center; and

     WHEREAS, in addition, a second construction phase is now underway which includes a critical care hospital that is already operational, a new 256-bed adult hospital, a classroom addition, a children's hospital addition and an expansion to the Arthur C. Guyton Research Complex; and

     WHEREAS, a native of Tylertown, Dr. Conerly received his bachelor's degree with honors in 1957 from Millsaps College and his medical degree in 1960 from Tulane University; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly received special training at the United States Air Force School of Aerospace Medicine at Brooks Air Force Base, Texas; completed a fellowship in medicine in the Section of Cardiology at Ochsner Foundation Hospital in New Orleans; and took a residency in internal medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, where he was the institution's Mississippi Lung Association Fellow in Pulmonary Disease from 1972-1974; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly served in the United States Air Force (USAF) for more than six years as Director of the Aerospace Medicine Division for the 3350th USAF Hospital at Moody Air Force Base (AFB), GA, and Director of Base Medical Services at Vance AFB, OK.  Recipient of the USAF Flight Surgeon of the Year Award in 1962 and the USAF Commendation Medal in 1963, he was honorably discharged from the Air Force in 1966 at the rank of major; and

     WHEREAS, a Fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians, Dr. Conerly has held membership in many professional organizations such as the American Medical Association, Mississippi State Medical Association, Central Medical Society of Mississippi, American Academy of General Practice, Aerospace Medical Association, American and Mississippi Thoracic Societies, American Society of Internal Medicine, Association of American Medical Colleges and the Mississippi Academy of Sciences; and

     WHEREAS,  Dr. Conerly served a three-year term as the American College of Chest Physicians' Commissioner on the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs;  served as a former examiner and member of the Board of Trustees for the National Board for Respiratory Care; has served on the Mississippi State Medical Association Council on Medical Education, the Professional Education Committee of the American Heart Association, Mississippi Affiliate, and the Journal of Respiratory Diseases editorial review board; and is also the state health contact for the Southern Regional Educational Board; and

     WHEREAS, an active member of his community, Dr. Conerly has been a member and held leadership roles in various community organizations including the Board of Directors of the American Red Cross, Mississippi Chapter, and the Capital Area United Way; past President of the Rotary Club of Jackson and past Chairman of the Board of Governors of the University Club; membership on the boards of the Metro Jackson Chamber of Commerce, Junior Achievement, the Jackson Medical Education District, the Community Bank and the Community Advisory Council of the Junior League of Jackson; and

     WHEREAS,  throughout his long and distinguished career, Dr. Conerly has received numerous honors and awards such as the 2001 Hope Award, which is given annually for outstanding community contributions by the Mississippi Division of the Multiple Sclerosis Society, the Millsaps College "Alumnus of the Year" Award in 2002, and he and his wife were recognized as the 2002 People of Vision by Preserve Sight Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly has been lovingly supported in all his endeavors by his lovely wife, the former Frances Bryan, and their two sons, Al and Charlie; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and commend outstanding Mississippians such as Dr. Conerly, who has dedicated his life and career to improving the quality of health care and service to the citizens of the State of Mississippi:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and express our sincere appreciation to Dr. Wallace Conerly, Vice Chancellor and Dean of the School of Medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, for his many years of dedicated public service, congratulate him upon his retirement and express our warmest wishes for success in all his future endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Dr. Wallace Conerly, to the Board of Trustees of Institutions of Higher Learning and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.