2003 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Chism, Harrison, Smith (39th)

House Concurrent Resolution 71

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, the New Hope High School Lady Trojan Softball Team completed the 2000, 2001 and 2002 seasons with a combined record of 111 wins with only 10 losses; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans have become the first team in 4A classification to win three consecutive titles in slow pitch softball, and first in any sport at New Hope to capture a three-peat; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans proved unmatched in district play for 2000 with an outstanding district record of 9 and 1, 2001 with a record of 8 and 0, and continued their dominance in 2002 with a perfect 7 and 1 record; and

     WHEREAS, after winning both district tournaments from 2000 through 2002, the Lady Trojans ran through the Class 4A ranks by winning both the Class 4A North Championships and the State Championships; and

     WHEREAS, in the State Championship in 2002, the Lady Trojans easily defeated Northeast Lauderdale 6-3 and 12-2 earning their third straight Class 4A State Championship; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans have been superbly coached and inspired by Head Coach Cary Shepherd and Assistant Coaches Kathi Fleming, Wayne Ellis and Ame Robertson, who have broadened the players' knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon the players, including:  the naming of Laura Lee Holman, Rachel Baucom, Courtney Gordon and Ginny Lowery, to the 2002 MHSAA All-State Team; the naming of Laura Lee Holman, Ginny Lowery, Shakima Nicholson, Rachel Baucom, Courtney Gordon, Jenna Hale, Jessica Hale, Nikki Petty, Ashley Bush, Tori Harris and Stacie West to the 2002 All-District Team; the naming of Laura Lee Holman as Commercial Dispatch Area Player of the Year; Cary Shepherd as Commercial Dispatch Area Coach of the Year; and the naming of Ginny Lowery, Rachel Baucom, Jenna Hale, Jessica Hale, Shakima Nicholson, Stacie West and Courtney Gordon to the Commercial Dispatch All Area 1st Team; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans and Coach Shepherd, recorded their 500th win on September 28, 2002, and finished the season with a thirteen game winning streak, outscoring their opponents 467 to 84; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans, ranked number one by the Clarion-Ledger in pre-, post-, and regular season play, have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual players and their coaches and bring honor to New Hope High School; and

     WHEREAS, it is a policy of the Legislature of the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence especially when evidenced by the young people of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the New Hope High School Lady Trojan Softball Team for winning the State 4A softball championships in 2000, 2001 and 2002, and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to New Hope High School, Head Coach Cary Shepherd, Assistant Coaches Kathi Fleming, Wayne Ellis, and Ame Robertson and to the Capitol Press Corps.