2003 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Harrison, Barbour, Chism, Cummings, Dickson, Ellis, Fleming, Hines, Holland, Howell, McCoy, Moss, Roberson, Scott (17th), Smith (35th), Smith (39th), Wallace, Zuber

House Concurrent Resolution 70

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, honorees of the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers were inducted on January 17, 2003, at the Mississippi University for Women; and

     WHEREAS, the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers began in the hearts and minds of those who know and respect great teachers; and

     WHEREAS, after two years of planning, the concept received the official endorsement of the Governor's Office, the Mississippi Department of Education, and the Board of Trustees of Institutions of Higher Learning in 1989; and

     WHEREAS, established on the campus of Mississippi University for Women, the Hall of Master Teachers held its inaugural induction ceremony in 1991; and

     WHEREAS, the Hall now has 61 members, including graduates of almost every teacher education program in Mississippi and several from other states; and

     WHEREAS, the following members were inducted as the Class of 2002:  Paul M. Cuicchi, a physics teacher at Starkville High School; Frankie S. Germany, a reading and math teacher at Neshoba Central Middle School in Philadelphia; Lynn Mize, a music teacher at Pierce Street Elementary in Tupelo; Judith M. Reynolds, an English and Spanish teacher at Clinton High School; Dr. Edna M. Waller, a gifted teacher at Magnolia Park Elementary in Ocean Springs, Carol Wright, a math teacher at the Weir Attendance Center; and

     WHEREAS, the following teachers were also honored as finalists:  Patricia L. Atkins, a fourth grade teacher at East Corinth Elementary; Dr. Janet Littlejohn, a sixth grade and gifted teacher at Demonstration Elementary in Columbus; Sandra R. Murphy, a fourth and fifth grade teacher at Caledonia Elementary; and Olivia J. Sansing, a second grade teacher at Joe Cook Elementary in Columbus; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature to recognize and commend outstanding educators such as these honorees, who have dedicated their lives and careers to educating our children, who are the future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate each of these honorees of the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers and express our deepest appreciation for their dedication and commitment to educating our children.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to each of the honorees, Mississippi University for Women and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.