By: Senator(s) Frazier, Jordan

To: Rules

## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 20

1	A	RESOLUTION	EXTENDING	GREETINGS	TO	THE	SIXTEEN	PARTICIPANTS
_	 							

- 2 OF THE LEGISLATIVE RESEARCH AND DRAFTING TRAINING-OF-TRAINERS
- 3 PROGRAMS FOR NIGERIAN STATE LEGISLATURES.
- WHEREAS, the State of Mississippi is hosting sixteen
- 5 legislative staff members who are participating in a training-of
- 6 trainers programs entitled "Legislative Research and Drafting
- 7 Training-of-Trainers Programs for Nigerian State Legislatures";
- 8 and
- 9 WHEREAS, the program is designed to strengthen the capacity
- 10 of legislative staff; develop the skills and techniques for
- 11 legislative research and drafting and to establish and operate
- 12 Legislative Services Offices and Legislative Reference Bureaus;
- 13 and
- 14 WHEREAS, the program approved by the United States Department
- of State Bureau of Educational and Cultural Affairs is implemented
- 16 by the Mississippi Consortium for International Development; and
- 17 WHEREAS, the sixteen participants represent the Nigerian
- 18 states of Adamawa, Benue, Edo, Enugu, Katsina, Lagos, Niger and
- 19 Rivers; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the United States training will include workshops,
- 21 seminars, internships, action plan development and cultural and
- 22 social activities; and
- 23 WHEREAS, as an added feature, the participants observed part
- 24 of the 2002 Third Extraordinary Session of the Mississippi
- 25 Legislature on Medical Malpractice and Tort Reform; and
- 26 WHEREAS, the ultimate goal of the program is to build the
- 27 capacity of the legislative arm by strengthening the legislative

- 28 drafting, research and reference services in each participating
- 29 state;
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED by the Senate of the State of
- 31 Mississippi, that we extend a warm Mississippi greeting to Mr.
- 32 Ashiyatu Kill Ananze and Mrs. Hannaut Samuel Kadala of Adamawa
- 33 State; Mr. Bernard Igbawase Nule and Mr. Fabian Enenche Owoicho of
- 34 Benue State; Mr. Oscar E. Ubhenin and Mrs. Bridget Adesuwa Abure
- 35 of Edo State; Mrs. Patricia Ngozi Eze and Mr. Dennis Ani Dunu of
- 36 Enugu State; Mr. Abubakar Yusuf Ibrahim and Mr. Tsagem Bala Umaru
- 37 of Katsina State; Mr. Adewunmi Gbolahan Ogunsanya and Mr. Abubakar
- 38 Taiwo Otun of Lagos State; Mr. Tanko Mohammed Zakari and Mr.
- 39 Yakuba Pandogari Tafida of Niger State; and Ms. Felicia
- 40 Tubolayeofori Nwoke and Mrs. Kathryn Ngozi Paul-Ajayi of Rivers
- 41 State, and wish them the best as they prepare themselves to make
- 42 an impact in their respective state assemblies.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 44 furnished to the outstanding participants of this United States
- 45 program, MCID, the United States Department of State Bureau of
- 46 Educational and Cultural Affairs, and members of the Capitol Press
- 47 Corp.