2002 3rd Extraordinary Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Smith, Gordon, Dearing, Posey, Thames, Chaney, Harvey, King, Turner, Dickerson, White (29th), Scoper, Johnson (19th), Bryan, Carlton, Canon, Hyde-Smith, Lee, Jackson, Mettetal, Burton, Nunnelee, Huggins, Little, Minor, Dawkins, Williamson, Ross, Tollison, Frazier, Walls, Simmons, Furniss, Michel, Moffatt, Stogner, Robertson, Carmichael

Senate Resolution 23

(As Adopted by Senate)


     WHEREAS, Dr. A. Wallace (Wally) Conerly, M.D., has announced he will retire from his position as Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs and Dean of the School of Medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center in Jackson, Mississippi, effective June 30, 2003; and

     WHEREAS, a member of the Medical Center faculty since 1973, Dr. Conerly served for 13 years as Assistant Vice Chancellor for Health Affairs before he assumed his current appointment on August 2, 1994.  A professor of medicine, he served as Medical Director at the Department of Respiratory Therapy at the University Hospital for 21 years and as Director of the Medical Center Division of Continuing Health Professional Education from 1979 to 1993.  His medical practice is in the field of chest medicine and critical care; and

     WHEREAS, as the chief executive officer of the state's only academic health science center, he leads an institution with an annual budget of more than $609,000,000 and a yearly payroll for its 7200 employees of $303,870,606.  He is the chief architect of the Medical Center's ongoing expansion program, the largest in the history of state higher education.  Phase I, completed in 1999 and totaling $211,000,000 included a new children's hospital, a new women and infant's hospital, a building for the School of Health Related Professions, an addition to the School of Nursing, a student union, two parking garages and an imaging center.  A second $124,000,000 construction phase is now underway.  It includes a critical care hospital already operational, a new 256-bed adult hospital, a classroom addition, a children's hospital addition and an expansion to the Arthur C. Guyton Research Complex; and

     WHEREAS, a native of Tylertown, Dr. Conerly received his BS degree with honors in 1957 at Millsaps College and his MD degree in 1960 at Tulane University.  He did special training at the US Air Force School of Aerospace Medicine at Brooks Air Force Base, Texas, did a fellowship in medicine in the Section of Cardiology at Ochsner Foundation Hospital in New Orleans and took a residency in internal medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center.  He was the institution's Mississippi Lung Association Fellow in Pulmonary Disease from 1972-1974; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly served in the US Air Force for more than six years as Director of the Aerospace Medicine Division for the 3350th USAF Hospital at Moody AFB, GA, and Director of Base Medical Services at Vance AFB, OK.  Recipient of the USAF Flight Surgeon of the Year Award in 1962, the USAF Commendation Medal in 1963, he was honorably discharged from the Air Force in 1966 at the rank of major; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly is a Fellow of the American College of Chest Physicians.  His past and present professional memberships also include the American Medical Association, Mississippi State Medical Association, Central Medical Society of Mississippi, American Academy of General Practice, Aerospace Medical Association, American and Mississippi Thoracic Societies, American Society of Internal Medicine, Association of American Medical Colleges and the Mississippi Academy of Sciences.  Dr. Conerly served a three-year term as the American College of Chest Physicians' Commissioner on the Commission on Accreditation of Allied Health Education Programs.  He is a former examiner and member of the Board of Trustees for the National Board for Respiratory Care and has served on the Mississippi State Medical Association Council on Medical Education, the Professional Education Committee of the American Heart Association, Mississippi Affiliate, and the Journal of Respiratory Diseases editorial review board.  He is also the state health contact for the Southern Regional Educational Board; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. Conerly has served on the Board of Directors of the American Red Cross, Mississippi Chapter and the Capital Area United Way.  He is past President of the Rotary Club of Jackson and past Chairman of the Board of Governors of the University Club.  He is on the boards of the Metro Jackson Chamber of Commerce, Junior Achievement, the Jackson Medical Education District, the Community Bank and is a member of the Community Advisory Council of the Junior League of Jackson.  The Mississippi Division of the Multiple Sclerosis Society honored Dr. Conerly and the Medical Center with its 2001 Hope Award.  The award is given annually for outstanding community contributions.  He received Millsaps College's "Alumnus of the Year" Award in 2002, and he and his wife were recognized as the 2002 People of Vision by Preserve Sight Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, Dr. and Mrs. Conerly, the former Frances Bryan (BS Millsaps 1958), are the parents of two sons, Al and Charlie; and

     WHEREAS, we are grateful for Dr. Conerly's legacy of service in his profession and in Mississippi state government:

      NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate Dr. Wallace Conerly, Vice Chancellor and Dean of the School of Medicine at the University of Mississippi Medical Center, upon the occasion of his retirement after many years of dedicated public service, and with he and his wife, Frances, the best as he returns to private life.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, THAT this resolution be presented to Dr. Conerly and his family, be forwarded to the Board of Trustees of Institutions of Higher Learning, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.