To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Gordon, Little, Smith, Jackson, Moffatt, Harvey, Thames, Walls, Carmichael, Hyde-Smith, Dearing, Williamson, Chaney, Johnson (19th), Canon, Posey, Stogner, Browning, Burton, Mettetal, Robertson, Minor, Scoper

## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 78

1	Α	RESOLUTION	COMMENDING	AND	CONGRATULATING	THE	MISSISSIPPI

- 2 STATE UNIVERSITY BULLDOG BASKETBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE SEC
- 3 TOURNAMENT CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR SETTING A SCHOOL RECORD FOR SEASON
- 4 VICTORIES.
- 5 WHEREAS, the Mississippi State University Mens Basketball
- 6 Team won the SEC Tournament Championship; and
- 7 WHEREAS, the Bulldogs set a new all-time single-season school
- 8 standard with 27 wins during the 2001-2002 campaign, breaking the
- 9 previous mark of 26 victories set by MSU's 1995-1996 Final Four
- 10 Team; and
- 11 WHEREAS, MSU's 27 wins and 77.1 winning percentage tied with
- 12 SEC Champion Alabama for the best marks among all Southeastern
- 13 Conference teams this season; and
- 14 WHEREAS, MSU earned its eighth postseason tournament
- 15 appearance since 1990 with this year's second-round showing in the
- 16 NCAA Tournament; and
- 17 WHEREAS, Mississippi State has now advanced beyond the first
- 18 round of the NCAA Tournament during each of the team's last three
- 19 tournament appearances; and
- 20 WHEREAS, the Bulldogs established new single-season school
- 21 standards for most points scored (2,582), most rebounds (1,359),
- 22 most assists (566) and most steals (294); and
- 23 WHEREAS, after claiming the school's second SEC Tournament
- 24 Championship with wins over nationally ranked Florida and Alabama,
- 25 as well as LSU, the Bulldogs earned their highest seeding ever
- 26 (No. 3 seed in the Midwest Regional bracket) in NCAA Tournament
- 27 play; and

28	WHEREAS, the Bulldogs led the Southeastern Conference in team
29	field-goal percentage (48.0%) and rebounding margin (+6.5 rpg),
30	while ranking second among the league leaders in assists (16.2
31	apg) and three-point field-goal percentage defense (30.1%); and
32	WHEREAS, Mississippi State matched the current all-time
33	school standard by opening the 2001-2002 season with 11
34	consecutive victories, equaling the school's all-time record of 11
35	straight wins to open a basketball season previously set by the
36	1957-1958 MSU squad; and
37	WHEREAS, the Bulldogs were led by Coach Rick Stansbury, who
38	became the second Bulldog basketball coach in school history to
39	take more than one State team to postseason tournament play; and
40	WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature of the State of
41	Mississippi to commend the noteworthy accomplishments of the
42	student athletes of this state:
43	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
44	MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend the Mississippi State
45	University Men's Basketball Team for winning the SEC Tournament
46	Championship and for setting a school record for single season
47	victories.
48	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be
49	presented to the MSU Bulldog Basketball Team and Coach Rick
50	Stansbury.