By: Senator(s) Frazier, Harden

## SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 60

A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE PROVINE HIGH 1 SCHOOL "LADY RAMS" BASKETBALL TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING 2001-2002 2 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE STATE 4A CHAMPIONSHIP. 3 WHEREAS, the Provine High School "Lady Rams" Basketball Team 4 finished the 2001-2002 season with a remarkable record of thirty 5 wins and five losses; and 6 WHEREAS, the Lady Rams won several tournament and play-off 7 8 championships, including the Brandon High School Tournament, the District 6, Division IV Class 4A Championship, the North 9 Mississippi Class 4A Championship and the Class 4A State 10 Championship; and 11 WHEREAS, priding themselves in the team's motto "Practice 12 13 with purpose, play with passion," the Lady Rams were able to make history by winning Provine's first girls Overall State 14 15 Championship and first North State Championship; and WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon 16 various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated play 17 18 this season, including: the naming of Latosha Christmas, Leslie Christmas and Keisha Carter to the All-State Team; the selection 19 of Latosha Christmas and Leslie Christmas to the All-District 20 21 Team; the selection of Latosha Christmas to the MS/AL All-Star Game, The Clarion-Ledger's All-Metro and All-State 1st Teams; and 22 the naming of Keisha Carter to The Clarion-Ledger's All-Metro and 23 All-State 2nd Teams; and 24 WHEREAS, the Provine High School Lady Rams have been superbly 25

26 coached and inspired by Head Coach Barbara Hartzog, Assistant 27 Coach Terri Palmer and Trainer Shannon Singletary, who have

S. R. No. 60 02/SS02/R1443 PAGE 1

N1/2

broadened the Lady Rams' knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution, and Head Coach Hartzog has brought additional honor to Provine High School by being named Metro Coach of the Year; and

32 WHEREAS, the team roster of this championship squad is as 33 Whitney Ball, Keisha Carter, Tosha Christmas, Tonya follows: Thomas, Sandra Harper, Leslie Christmas, Lecole Hawkins, Victoria 34 Anderson, Lakashia Younger, Dyelida Ball, Shana Dotson, Anesla 35 McBride, Fallon Swinnie and Shunda Starks; Head Coach Barbara 36 Hartzog; Assistant Coach Terri Palmer; Statistician Emily Bolls; 37 Managers Angela Miell, Renika Whaley and Jessica Houston; and 38 Trainer Shannon Singletary; and 39

40 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the winning 41 accomplishments of this group of student-athletes, who have 42 brought honor to their school, their community and to the State of 43 Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we commend and congratulate the Provine High School "Lady Rams" Basketball Team and their coach, Head Coach Barbara Hartzog, for their phenomenal 2001-2002 season, for winning the Class 4A State Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.

50 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 51 presented to the Provine High School Girls Basketball Team, Head 52 Coach Barbara Hartzog and be made available to the Principal of 53 Provine High School and members of the Capitol Press Corps.