MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

By: Senator(s) Burton

To: Rules

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 586

1 A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA 2 KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF 3 "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."

WHEREAS, on March 19, 2002, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and

8 WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the 9 outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's 10 All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful 11 community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi 12 State Board for Community and Junior Colleges to participate in 13 the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition; 14 and

15 WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as members of the 2001 All-Mississippi Academic First Team: Sally 16 Cole, Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Holli Adams, 17 18 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Matthew Mooney, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Aaron Davis, East 19 Central Community College in Decatur; Morgan McPhail, East 20 21 Mississippi Community College in Scooba; Robert Miles, Hinds 22 Community College in Pearl; Tara Rosenberg, Holmes Community College in Goodman; Jennifer Boler, Holmes Community College in 23 Grenada; Cynthia Maxcy, Itawamba Community College in Fulton; 24 Rebecca Pounders, Jones County Junior College in Ellisville; 25 26 Alison Davis, Meridian Community College in Meridian; Rowland 27 Roberson, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead; Ramsey

S. C. R. No. 586 02/SS26/R1366 PAGE 1 Wash, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier; Dana Morris, Northeast Mississippi Community College in Booneville; Michelle Bonham, Northwest Mississippi Community College in Senatobia; Tucker English, Pearl River Community College in Poplarville; and Emily Perry, Southwest Mississippi Community College in Summit; and

WHEREAS, the Second Team includes Mary Smith, Copiah-Lincoln 34 Community College in Natchez; Danielle Saxon, Copiah-Lincoln 35 Community College in Natchez; Lana Rogers, East Central Community 36 College in Decatur; Melanie Key, East Mississippi Community 37 38 College in Scooba; Ardra Morgan, East Mississippi Community College in Mayhew; Meredith Murphy, East Mississippi Community 39 40 College in Mayhew; Heather Harrell, Hinds Community College in Pearl; Pearl Goodwin, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; Lolita 41 Mason-Fields, Hinds Community College (Nursing/Allied Health) in 42 Jackson; Lasondra Storey, Hinds Community College (Nursing/Allied 43 Health) in Jackson; Tameka Henderson, Hinds Community College in 44 45 Utica; Wendy Cook, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; Anthony Warren, Hinds Community College in Raymond; Alaina Porter, Hinds 46 47 Community College in Raymond; Betsey Rice, Holmes Community College in Ridgeland; Karen Worrell, Holmes Community College in 48 49 Goodman; Aaron Hudson, Holmes Community College at Ridgeland; Dorothy Ray, Itawamba Community College in Tupelo; Sarah Kolenda, 50 Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Abbie Foster, Jones County 51 52 Junior College in Ellisville; Manian Snell, Meridian Community College in Meridian; Richard Beckham, Mississippi Delta Community 53 54 College in Moorhead; Lucas Mesquita, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Perkinston; Dewana Rogers, Mississippi Gulf 55 Coast Community College in Perkinston; Yasir Bhatty, Mississippi 56 57 Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier; Emily Sumrall, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gulfport; Michael 58 59 Harrison, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gulfport; William Johnson, Northeast Mississippi Community College in 60 S. C. R. No. 586

02/SS26/R1366 PAGE 2 Booneville; Issac Morgan, Northwest Mississippi Community College
in Senatobia; Ryan Holmes, Pearl River Community College in
Poplarville; and Shane Adams, Southwest Mississippi Community
College in Summit; and

65 WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi 66 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive 67 intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination to achieve 68 academic excellence; and

69 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members 70 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for 71 them and their academic institutions the respect and admiration of 72 this Legislature; and

73 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 74 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young 75 people of our state, who are its future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of Phi Theta Kappa and extend our heartiest wishes for success in all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a duly authenticated copy of this resolution be presented to members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team on the occasion of "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day," be forwarded to the State Board for Community and Junior Colleges, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.