MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

REGULAR SESSION 2002

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Dearing, Huggins, Farris, King, Smith, Gollott, Chaney, Chamberlin, Williamson, Canon, White (29th), Furniss, Harden, Frazier, Cuevas, Scoper, Hamilton, Dickerson, Hewes, Horhn, Burton, Carlton, Walls, Little, Hyde-Smith, Dawkins, Johnson (19th), Nunnelee, Jackson

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 580

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING RECIPIENTS OF THE 2002 1 MISSISSIPPI AGELESS HEROES AWARDS. 2 3 WHEREAS, the Ageless Heroes program was created by the Blue Cross and Blue Shield Association in 1997 to celebrate the spirit 4 and vitality of our nations' seniors and to showcase the 5 organization's long-time commitment to healthy aging; and 6 7 WHEREAS, although it was organized as a national program, 8 Richard J. Hale, the President and Chief Executive Officer of Blue Cross and Blue Shield of Mississippi, saw the need for a similar 9 program in our home state; and 10 WHEREAS, the Mississippi Ageless Heroes program helps change 11 society's spotlight by promoting the reality of active, healthy 12 lifestyles for older adults; and 13 WHEREAS, regional and statewide honorees were selected by 14 independent judges in the categories of Community Involvement, 15 Creativity, Good Neighbor, Love of Learning, New Beginnings and 16 17 Vitality; and WHEREAS, recipients of the 2002 Mississippi Ageless Heroes 18 Awards are as follows: 19 20 NORTHERN REGION Iris Dickson Mitchell, Greenville 21 Sara Watkins, Southaven Community Involvement Creativity 22 Leota Cardwell, Starkville 23 Judge Lenore L. Prather, Columbus 24 Good Neighbor Love of Learning Alene S. Speight, Lula 25 Mary Ellen Pope, Columbus New Beginnings Vitality 26 27 CENTRAL REGION Ruby Jean Kennedy, Newton Frances Finane, Raymond 28 29 Community Involvement Creativity S. C. R. No. 580 N1/202/SS02/R1324 PAGE 1

Suretta Nunn, Noxapater 30 Cora Norman, Ph.D., Jackson Good Neighbor Love of Learning 31 A. P. Fatherree, Sr., Jackson Sonny Oliphant, Philadelphia 32 Vitality 33 New Beginnings SOUTHERN REGION 34 Earl C. Whittemore, Jr., Saucier Gerry Blessey, Biloxi 35 36 Community Involvement Creativity Mary Jo Wedgeworth, Laurel Good Neighbor 37 Joseph A. Yore, Hattiesburg Love of Learning 38 Pearl Ravencraft, Liberty Lucille W. Bailey, Waynesboro 39 Vitality 40 New Beginnings STATEWIDE 41 42 Dora Jean Whatley, Samuel Marshall Gore, Ph.D., 43 Star Clinton 44 Community Involvement Creativity 45 Annie M. Lynch, Monita McLemore, Ph.D., Ocean Florence Springs 46 47 Good Neighbor Love of Learning 48 Annie Mae Wilson, Carrollton Pearson Gay, Vicksburg 49 New Beginnings Vitality; and WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Mississippi Legislature to 50 51 commend the spirit and vitality of our state's outstanding senior 52 citizens: NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 53 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 54 we do hereby commend the recipients of the 2002 Mississippi 55 Ageless Heroes Awards. 56 57 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be presented to each recipient of the 2002 Mississippi Ageless Heroes 58 Award and made available to the Capitol Press Corps. 59