By: Representatives Young, Brown

To: Rules

## HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 102

1 2 3	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
4	WHEREAS, on March 19, 2002, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an
5	esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which
6	has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will
7	celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and
8	WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
9	outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's
10	All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful
11	community and junior college students assembled by the Mississipp
12	State Board for Community and Junior Colleges to participate in
13	the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition;

- 15 WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
- 16 members of the 2001 All-Mississippi Academic First Team: Sally
- 17 Cole, Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Holli Adams,
- 18 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Matthew Mooney,
- 19 Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Aaron Davis, East
- 20 Central Community College in Decatur; Morgan McPhail, East
- 21 Mississippi Community College in Scooba; Robert Miles, Hinds
- 22 Community College in Pearl; Tara Rosenburg, Holmes Community
- 23 College in Goodman; Jennifer Boler, Holmes Community College in
- 24 Grenada; Cynthia Maxcy, Itawamba Community College in Fulton;
- 25 Rebecca Pounders, Jones County Community College in Ellisville;
- 26 Alison Davis, Meridian Community College in Meridian; Rowland
- 27 Roberson, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead; Ramsey

14

- 28 Wash, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier; Dana
- 29 Morris, Northeast Mississippi Community College in Booneville;
- 30 Michelle Bonham, Northwest Mississippi Community College in
- 31 Senatobia; Tucker English, Pearl River Community College in
- 32 Poplarville; Emily Perry, Southwest Mississippi Community College
- 33 in Summit; and
- 34 WHEREAS, the Second Team includes Mary Smith, Copiah-Lincoln
- 35 Community College in Natchez; Danielle Saxon, Copiah-Lincoln
- 36 Community College in Natchez; Lana Rogers, East Central Community
- 37 College in Decatur; Melanie Key, East Mississippi Community
- 38 College in Scooba; Ardra Morgan, East Mississippi Community
- 39 College in Mayhew; Meredith Murphy, East Mississippi Community
- 40 College in Mayhew; Heather Harrell, Hinds Community College in
- 41 Pearl; Pearl Goodwin, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; Lolita
- 42 Mason-Fields, Hinds Community College (Nursing/Allied Health) in
- 43 Jackson; Lasondra Storey, Hinds Community College (Nursing/Allied
- 44 Health) in Jackson; Tameka Henderson, Hinds Community College in
- 45 Utica; Wendy Cook, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; Anthony
- 46 Warren, Hinds Community College in Raymond; Alaina Porter, Hinds
- 47 Community College in Raymond; Betsey Rice, Holmes Community
- 48 College in Ridgeland; Karen Worrell, Holmes Community College in
- 49 Goodman; Aaron Hudson, Holmes Community College in Ridgeland;
- 50 Dorothy Ray, Itawamba Community College in Tupelo; Sarah Kolenda,
- 51 Itawamba Community College in Fulton; Abbie Foster, Jones County
- 52 Community College in Ellisville; Manian Snell, Meridian Community
- 53 College in Meridian; Richard Beckham, Mississippi Delta Community
- 54 College in Moorhead; Lucas Mesquita, Mississippi Gulf Coast
- 55 Community College in Perkinston; Dewana Rogers, Mississippi Gulf
- 56 Coast Community College in Perkinston; Yasir Bhatty, Mississippi
- 57 Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier; Emily Sumrall,
- 58 Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gulfport; Michael
- 59 Harrison, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gulfport;
- 60 William Johnson, Northeast Mississippi Community College in

- Booneville; Isaac Morgan, Northwest Mississippi Community College 61
- in Senatobia; Ryan Holmes, Pearl River Community College in 62
- Poplarville; and Shane Adams, Southwest Mississippi Community 63
- College in Summit; and 64
- 65 WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive 66
- intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination to achieving 67
- academic excellence; and 68
- WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members 69
- of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for 70
- 71 themselves and their academic institutions the respect and
- admiration of this Legislature; and 72
- WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 73
- and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young 74
- people of our state, who are its future: 75
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 76
- REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING 77
- 78 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of
- Phi Theta Kappa and extend our heartiest wishes for success in all 79
- 80 their future endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be 81
- 82 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- Press Corps. 83

02/HR07/R2103 PAGE 3 (DJ\HS)