By: Representatives Mayo, Espy, Henderson To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 78

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 1 CLARKSDALE HIGH SCHOOL WILDCATS FOOTBALL TEAM FOR ITS OUTSTANDING 2 2001-2002 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE MISSISSIPPI HIGH SCHOOL 3 4 ACTIVITIES ASSOCIATION (MHSAA) CLASS 4-A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP. 5 WHEREAS, the Clarksdale High School Wildcats Football Team finished the 2001-2002 season with a remarkable record of 13 wins 6 7 and only one loss; and WHEREAS, throughout the regular season and playoffs, the 8 9 Wildcats fought and defeated many well-contended teams, and were able to capture the Mississippi High School Activities Association 10 (MHSAA) Class 4-A State Championship by defeating South Pike by a 11 score of 13-0; and 12 WHEREAS, the Clarksdale High Wildcats have been the first and 13 only team in the history of Mississippi high school football to 14 reach the State Championship Game five consecutive years; and 15 16 WHEREAS, in addition to competing in five consecutive state 17 championship games, the Wildcats have won three of the five state championship games, five division titles, five North State titles, 18 and were twice the runners-up for state champions; and 19 WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon 20 various team members in recognition of their fine, dedicated and 21 superior play and hard work this season, including: the naming of 22 Darren Williams as the only player from Mississippi for the United 23 States Army High School All-American Bowl in 2001; the selection 24 of Darren Williams as All-State Team MVP; the naming of Darren 25 Williams to the Parade Magazine All-American Team; the selection 26 of Kenneth Kern, Fernando Matthews, Tremaine McBride and Moses 27 Sales to the All-State Team; the selection of Darren Williams, 28 78 H. C. R. No.

N1/2

Tremaine McBride, Fernando Matthews, Kenneth Kern, Larry Stokes, Moses Sales, Ezell Ellington, Chris Jones, Jonathan King, Marcus Cohen and Ricky Coleman to the All-Regional First Team; the naming of Alton Maddox, Jeremy Williams, Fred Akines, Steve Laury, Michael Self and Ricky Fields to the All-Regional Second Team; the naming of Darren Williams as All-Regional Top Offensive player; and Kenneth Kern as All-Regional Top Defensive Player; and

36 WHEREAS, in the five-year span of reaching the state 37 championship games, the Wildcats have posted a 62-8 record, 38 scoring 2,630 points while allowing only 604, placing 20 players 39 on the All-State Team, 18 players in the All-Star Game and 67 40 players on All-Division teams; and

41 WHEREAS, the Wildcats have not only excelled on the gridiron, 42 but in the classroom as well, boasting a roster of 40 players who 43 have earned academic and athletic college scholarships; and

44 WHEREAS, the Clarksdale High Wildcats have been superbly 45 coached and inspired by Head Coach Jesse Murphree and Assistant 46 Coaches Jimmy Jennings and Jim Hughes, who have broadened the 47 Wildcats' knowledge of the game and refined their skills in 48 execution; and

WHEREAS, Head Coach Jesse Murphree has brought additional honor to himself and to Clarksdale High by being named Division 3 Coach of the Year in 1997, 1998 and 2002, and Mississippi Coach of the Year in 2002; and

53 WHEREAS, Assistant Coaches Jimmy Jennings and Jim Hughes were 54 respectively named Division 3 Offensive and Defensive Coordinators 55 of the Year for five consecutive years; and

56 WHEREAS, the Clarksdale High Wildcats have been supported in 57 their athletic endeavors and attribute much of their success to 58 the many parents, fans and fellow peers whose moral and spiritual 59 encouragement have remained fervent throughout the season; and 60 WHEREAS, the Wildcats team has set school records in most 61 yards rushing, most touchdowns scored, most points scored, and

H. C. R. No. 78 02/HR07/R1562.1 PAGE 2 (DJ\HS) 62 fewest points allowed in the history of football at Clarksdale63 High; and

64 WHEREAS, the Wildcats have developed a winning and 65 cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their 66 activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual 67 players and their coaches and bring honor to Clarksdale High; and 68 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize 69 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of 70 our state, who are its future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF 71 72 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Clarksdale 73 74 High School Wildcats Football Team and their coaches, Head Coach Jesse Murphree, and Assistant Coaches Jimmy Jennings and Jim 75 Hughes for their phenomenal 2001-2002 season, for winning the 76 MHSAA Class 4-A State Championship and for displaying tireless 77 devotion to their athletic endeavors. 78

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Clarkdale High, Head Coach Jesse Murphree, Assistant Coaches Jimmy Jennings and Jim Hughes and members of the Capitol Press Corps.

H. C. R. No.7802/HR07/R1562.1ST: Commend Clarksdale High School WildcatsPAGE 3 (DJ\HS)Football team on winning State 4-A championship.