2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) White (29th)

Senate Resolution 72

(As Adopted by Senate)


     WHEREAS, Minadene Waldrop, a secondary science teacher at Terry High School, has recently been named by President Bush as a recipient of the 2001 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching (PAEMST); and

     WHEREAS, the award is administered by the National Science Foundation and is the nation's highest award for science and mathematics teachers; and

     WHEREAS, Mrs. Waldrop was selected from more than 600 national finalists from all 50 states, Puerto Rico, the District of Columbia, U.S. territories and the U.S. Department of Defense schools; and

     WHEREAS, each year a national panel of distinguished scientists, mathematicians and educators recommends up to 216 teachers to receive the award; and

     WHEREAS, each recipient receives a $7,500.00 grant to the recipient's school and a trip to Washington, D.C., where they will be recognized for their professional achievements and participate in a variety of educational and celebratory events; and

     WHEREAS, Mrs. Waldrop currently teaches Chemistry and Advanced Chemistry at Terry High School and also serves as a Coaching Teacher for Hinds County Schools Induction Program; and

     WHEREAS, Mrs. Waldrop's previous education experience includes: Teacher, Forest Hill High School (1988-1995); Teacher, Wingfield High School (1985-1988); Teacher, Peeples Jr. High School (1982-1985); Resource Teacher, Emergency School Aid Act Program, Jackson Public School District (1980-1982); Teacher, Brinkley Jr. High School; and Teacher, Tri-County Academy (1975-1976); and

     WHEREAS, throughout her career, Mrs. Waldrop has received numerous honors and awards, including:  Science Presidential Award Winner; Inducted into the Mississippi Hall of Master Teachers; Alternate State Teacher of the Year; Hinds County Teacher of the Year; Terry High School's Teacher of the Year; A/YA National Board Certification for Teachers; Tandy Teacher of Technology for Terry High School; Exceptional Participation for Education Technology Proficiency Training for Hinds County Teachers; Named by the Mississippi Chemical Society as Mississippi's Most Outstanding Chemistry Teacher of the Year; Recognized by Sigma Xi Society as Outstanding Chemistry Teacher; Outstanding Young Woman of America; and Red and Silver Apple Teacher Award; and

     WHEREAS, Mrs. Waldrop possesses an AA Certification from Mississippi College in Chemistry, a Master's Degree from Mississippi College in Home Economics Education, and a Bachelor's Degree from Mississippi University for Women in Home Economics Education; and

     WHEREAS, Mrs. Waldrop has given back to her community by serving as Chairman of Food Community for Habitat for Humanity Project, President of Women Missionary Union at Wynndale Baptist Church, and serving on the Board of Directors for Young Life and the Mississippi WMU Executive Committee; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and commend the outstanding accomplishments of such Mississippi citizens as Minadene Waldrop:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend Minadene Waldrop upon receiving the 2001 Presidential Award for Excellence in Mathematics and Science Teaching, and wish her continued success in all future endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Minadene Waldrop and made available to the Capitol Press Corps.