2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Jackson

Senate Concurrent Resolution 558


     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That a special joint study and oversight committee, the Commission on Rural and Small Town Economic Development, is created to study and make recommendations concerning economic development in rural areas and small towns in Mississippi.  The joint committee shall be composed of three (3) members of the Senate appointed by the Lieutenant Governor, three (3) members of the House of Representatives appointed by the Speaker of the House.  In addition, there shall be three (3) mayors of small towns, three (3) members from the board of supervisors of rural counties, three (3) county economic development directors and three (3) citizens.  The Lieutenant Governor, the Speaker and the Governor shall appoint one (1) member from each category.  The Director of the Small Town Development Center at Mississippi State University shall be an ex officio member.

     Within fifteen (15) days after sine die adjournment of the 2002 Regular Session of the Legislature, the Lieutenant Governor, Speaker and the Governor shall appoint the members of the committee.  After the members are appointed, the joint committee shall meet on a date designated by the Governor in Jackson, Mississippi, to select a chairman, organize the committee and establish rules for transacting its business and keeping records.  An affirmative vote of a majority of the members shall be required in the adoption of rules, resolutions and reports.  All members of the joint committee shall be notified in writing of all regular and special meetings of the committee, which notices shall be mailed at least five (5) days before the dates of the meetings.

     The joint committee may establish any subcommittees that it deems desirable to study and report to the committee with respect to any matter that is within the scope of this resolution.

     The joint committee shall make a written report of its findings and recommendations, and shall mail copies of the report to each member of the Legislature not later than December 1, 2002.     In carrying out the provisions of this resolution, the joint committee may utilize the services, facilities and personnel of all departments, agencies, offices and institutions of the state, including the state universities and the community and junior colleges.  In particular, the joint committee shall consult with the Mississippi Development Authority, and the Mississippi Development Authority shall cooperate with the committee and provide the committee with any information, administrative and technical support, and other assistance requested by the committee.  The joint committee may consult and seek advice from various groups in the state in order to understand the effect of any existing laws or any changes in law being considered by the committee.

     For attending meetings of the joint committee, each member shall be paid per diem compensation in the amount authorized by Section 25-3-69 and a mileage allowance and an expense allowance in the amount authorized by Section 5-1-47.  Legislative members shall be paid from the contingent expense fund of the member's respective house, and nonlegislative members shall be paid from funds made available by appropriation of the Legislature for the purpose of this resolution.  However, no per diem compensation, mileage allowance or expense allowance shall be paid for attending meetings of the joint committee while the Legislature is in session, and no per diem compensation, mileage allowance or expense allowance shall be paid without prior approval of the proper committee in the member's respective house.