2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Ward

House Resolution 13


     WHEREAS, Pine Grove High School, home to an outstanding chapter of the Future Farmers of America (FFA), was well represented by 11 teams at the 2001 State Contest held in Starkville, Mississippi; and

     WHEREAS, of the 11 Pine Grove FFA competing teams, five faired exceptionally well and departed the competition as state champions, bringing great honor to Pine Grove High School; and

     WHEREAS, in the Senior Prepared Public Speaker Division of Competition, Crystal Palmer's refined skills in the research, preparation and writing, of a speech she eloquently presented and defended led to her capture of the state title; and

     WHEREAS, applying their skills in FFA opening and closing procedures, officer conduct, speaking abilities and official FFA regulations, the Pine Grove Junior Opening and Closing Ceremonies Team, comprised of members Keith Bryant, Brittney Newby, LaShundra Bonds, Amy Hatcher, Anna Palmer, Tyler Pannell and Ashley Wilkerson, was successful in winning that division's state championship; and

     WHEREAS, the State Championship for Agriculture Mechanics was claimed by the Pine Grove Team of Kyle Jumper, Philip Clemmer, Jared Chapman and Corey Hargett; and

     WHEREAS, in addition, Kyle Jumper posted the overall high individual score for the second consecutive year in the Agriculture Mechanics Division; and

     WHEREAS, by exhibiting their proficiency in the areas of Halter Horse Evaluation Hunter Under Saddle Evaluation and Western Pleasure Evaluation, the Pine Grove FFA Junior Horse Judging Team, which consists of members LaShundra Bonds, Amy Hatcher, Brittney Newby and Brandon Vuncannon, also won the state championship; and

     WHEREAS, the Junior Horse Judging Team, in its quest to become champions, compiled a composite team score of 430 out of a possible 450 points, outscoring nine other teams; and

     WHEREAS, in the category of Dairy Judging, the State Championship was won by the Pine Grove Team of Cole Childs, Jade Jumper, Justin Mauney, Kaysie Morrison, Jenna Newby and Crystal Palmer after they broke a 982-point tie with Vardaman FFA by earning 43 points in oral reasoning scores; and

     WHEREAS, in the Dairy Judging category, Justin Mauney claimed the overall High Individual score in the state; and

     WHEREAS, the Pine Grove teams of Senior Prepared Public Speaker, Agriculture Mechanics and Dairy Judging gained further recognition by competing in the FFA Nationals held in Louisville, Kentucky, in November 2001; and

     WHEREAS, the Pine Grove High School FFA Team has been superbly coached and inspired by faculty advisor John-Grady Taylor; and

     WHEREAS, a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of skill and knowledge have been developed by the Pine Grove FFA Team, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual members and their advisor and bring much honor to Pine Grove High School; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives of the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the youth of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Pine Grove High School FFA Team and their advisor, John-Grady Taylor, for their outstanding accomplishments in 2001, for winning five Future Farmers of America State Championships and for displaying tireless devotion to their academic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Pine Grove High School, Advisor John-Grady Taylor and members of the Capitol Press Corps.