2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Flaggs

House Concurrent Resolution 117

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, the Triumph Missionary Baptist Church will be celebrating its 120th Anniversary on Sunday, April 7, 2002; and

     WHEREAS, the Triumph Missionary Baptist Church was organized in the Warren County Association of Baptist Churches at the Holy Grove Baptist Church on January 6, 1882; and

     WHEREAS, the first sanctuary was built on January 6, 1883, under the leadership of Reverend Kelly Rucks, who was succeeded in ministry by Reverend A.B. Reid, followed by Reverend Henry Adams, who served until 1922; and

     WHEREAS, during the period of 1923-1937, the following ministers served the Triumph Missionary Baptist Church:  Reverend Zack R. Stampley; Reverend W.M. Davis; Reverend J.A. Randle and Reverend E.M. Chatman; and

     WHEREAS, on April 23, 1937, Reverend Clarence C. Bolden was ordained and elected minister of Triumph Missionary Baptist Church, where he served until 1988; and

     WHEREAS, during Reverend Bolden's 51-year tenure, the church was rebuilt in 1942 and remodeled in 1952 and 1960 and the first junior choir was organized; and

     WHEREAS, after Reverend Bolden's retirement, the prayerful search committee presented Reverend James Warren to the church and he was elected minister in September 1988; and

     WHEREAS, under the leadership of Reverend James Warren, Triumph Missionary Baptist Church has purchased land with plans to build a new church in the near future; and

     WHEREAS, as the current pastor of Triumph, Reverend Larry A. Nick maintains a strong commitment to God and his church with a vision of a new sanctuary building that reflects the church's present motto, "We're a church standing on the promises of God and not just on the premises":

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Triumph Missionary Baptist Church on the celebration of its 120th Anniversary.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Triumph Missionary Baptist Church, Reverend James Warren and to the members of the Capitol Press Corps.