2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Chism, Harrison, Smith (39th)

House Concurrent Resolution 105

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, several teachers in the Columbus School District recently obtained the honor of receiving National Board Certification by the United States Department of Education; and

     WHEREAS, the following educators, representing several area schools, received the Master Teacher Certificate:  Candace Aldridge and Melinda Lowe of Fairview Elementary School; Dawn Dawkins, Patricia Harris, Terry Richardson and Olivia Sansing of Cook Elementary School; Shelia Heatherly, Judy Jenkins and Cindy McLaughlin of Hunt Intermediate School; Janet Littlejohn of Demonstration School; Lori Lowery of Stokes Beard Elementary School; Debbie McLaurin of Sale Elementary School; and Patty Thrash, Gayle Fortenberry and Nan Wyckoff of McKellar Technology Center; and

     WHEREAS, the following counselors received National Certification:  Linda Brown of Lee Middle School; Lisa Elmore of Cook Elementary School; Cindy Harris of Union Academy; Laurie Hood of McKellar Technology Center; Jennifer Kilpatrick of Columbus High School; and Ann Wallace of Fairview Elementary School; and

     WHEREAS, the following received National Certification of Clinical Competence for Speech-Language Pathologists or Audiologists:  Elizabeth Clark of Sale Elementary School; Tonya Davis of Fairview Elementary School; Susan Johnson of Cook Elementary School; Stephanie Kelley of Union Academy; and Nancy Mitchell of Hughes Alternative School; and

     WHEREAS, these educators of the Columbus School District are responsible for preparing and grooming generations of future doctors, lawyers, nurses, politicians, teachers, leaders and role models to face the challenges and victories that the future holds in store for this great nation of ours; and

     WHEREAS, with tireless dedication and loving patience, these educators of the Columbus School District are making Mississippi a greater state by educating our children to become productive, God-fearing, responsible citizens who will write the next chapter in the book of Mississippi history; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to commend excellence especially when evidenced by people who have dedicated their lives to developing and cultivating the minds and bodies of the many young Mississippians with whom they come in contact  during their careers:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate all those educators of the Columbus School District who, through their diligence and commitment to education, have received National Board Certification.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the Board of Trustees of the Columbus School District and the members of the Capitol Press Corps.