2002 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Chism, Smith (39th)

House Concurrent Resolution 101

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


     WHEREAS, the New Hope High School Lady Trojan Softball Team completed the 2000 and 2001 seasons with a combined record of 77 wins and only eight losses; and

     WHEREAS, in 2001, the Lady Trojans broke the previous school record by totaling 39 wins, which proved to be the most ever by any girls team at New Hope High; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans were unmatched in district play for 2000, finishing with an outstanding district record of nine and one, and the team continued its dominance in 2001 with a perfect eight and zero record; and

     WHEREAS, after winning both district tournaments in 2000 and 2001, the Lady Trojans ran through the Class 4A ranks by winning both the Class 4A North Championships and the State Championships; and

     WHEREAS, in the State Championship in 2001, the Lady Trojans easily defeated North East Lauderdale in two games, earning their second straight Class 4A State Championship; and

     WHEREAS, many individual honors have been bestowed upon the Lady Trojans, including:  the naming of Casey Colvin, Shakima Nicholson, Nikki Petty, Laura Lee Holman, Courtney Gordon, Ginny Lowery, Laura Oswalt, Shelley Frasier and Stephanie West to the All-District Team; the naming of Laura Lee Holman as Commercial Dispatch Area Player of the Year and Cary Shepherd as Area Coach of the Year; and the naming of Ginny Lowery, Casey Colvin and Laura Oswalt to the All-Area First Team; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans have been superbly coached and inspired by Head Coach Cary Shepherd and Assistant Coaches Kathi Fleming, Wayne Ellis and Ame Robertson, who have broadened the players' knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

     WHEREAS, the Lady Trojans have developed a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities and attitude reflect great credit upon the individual  players and their coaches and bring honor to New Hope High School; and

     WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature of the State of Mississippi to recognize and commend excellence especially when evidenced by the young people of our state, who are its future:

     NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the New Hope High School Lady Trojan Softball Team for winning the State 4A Softball Championships in 2000 and 2001, and for displaying tireless devotion to their athletic endeavors.

     BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to New Hope High School, Head Coach Cary Shepherd, Assistant Coaches Kathi Fleming, Wayne Ellis and Ame Robertson and to the Capitol Press Corps.