Lost SUBSTITUTE 1 FOR AMENDMENT No. 1 PROPOSED TO

Senate Bill NO. 2001

By Senator(s) Canon, Chamberlin, Chaney, Farris, Hamilton, Johnson(19), King, Kirby, Michel, Moffatt, Nunnelee, Robertson, Ross, Scoper, White(29)

Amend by striking all after the enacting clause and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

- 5 **SECTION 1.** Section 23-15-1037, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 6 amended as follows:
- 7 23-15-1037. (1) The State of Mississippi is hereby divided
- 8 into <u>four (4)</u> congressional districts as follows:
- 9 FIRST DISTRICT. The First Congressional District shall be
- 10 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
- 11 Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Clay, DeSoto,
- 12 Grenada, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Lowndes, Marshall, Monroe,
- 13 Montgomery, Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo,
- 14 Union, Webster, Yalobusha; and in Lowndes County the precincts of
- 15 Air Base A, Air Base B, Air Base C, Air Base D, Artesia, Brandon
- 16 A, Brandon B, Caldwell, Caledonia, Coleman, Co-op A, Co-op B,
- 17 Fairgrounds A, Fairgrounds C, Fairview, Franklin A, Franklin B,
- 18 Hunt A, Hunt B, Hunt C, Lee High, Mayhew, Mitchell, Plum Grove C,
- 19 Rural Hill B, Sale, Steens A, Steens B, Steens C, Stokes Beard,
- 20 Trinity, Union Academy A, Union Academy B, University A,
- 21 <u>University B and West Lowndes.</u>
- 22 **SECOND DISTRICT.** The Second Congressional District shall be
- 23 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:

- 24 Adams, Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds,
- 25 Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, Jefferson, Leflore, Quitman,
- 26 Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, Tunica, Warren, Washington,
- 27 Wilkinson and Yazoo.
- 28 THIRD DISTRICT. The Third Congressional District shall be
- 29 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
- 30 Attala, Choctaw, Clarke, Covington, Jasper, Jefferson Davis,
- 31 Jones, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lowndes, Madison,
- 32 <u>Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Rankin, Scott, Simpson,</u>
- 33 Smith, Wayne, Winston; and that portion of Lowndes County not
- 34 <u>included in the First Congressional District.</u>
- 35 **FOURTH DISTRICT.** The Fourth Congressional District shall be
- 36 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
- 37 Amite, Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Lamar,
- 38 Lincoln, Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Pike, Stone and Walthall.
- 39 * * *
- 40 (2) The boundaries of the congressional districts described
- 41 in subsection (1) of this section shall be the boundaries of the
- 42 counties <u>along such congressional district boundaries as the</u>
- 43 boundaries of such counties existed on October 1, 2001, and the
- 44 precinct boundaries along such congressional district boundaries
- 45 <u>as such precinct boundaries are contained in Census 2000</u>
- 46 redistricting maps (Public Law 94-171) TIGER line file.
- 47 **SECTION 2.** The Chairman of the Standing Joint Congressional
- 48 Redistricting Committee, with the assistance of counsel employed
- 49 by the Standing Joint Congressional Redistricting Committee, shall
- 50 submit this act, immediately upon approval by the Governor or
- 51 approval by the Legislature subsequent to a veto, either to the
- 52 Attorney General of the United States or to the United States
- 53 District Court of the District of Columbia, or both, in accordance
- with the provisions of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended
- 55 and extended.
- 56 **SECTION 3.** This act shall take effect and be in force from
- 57 and after the date it is effectuated under Section 5 of the Voting
- 58 Rights Act of 1965, as amended and extended.

Further, amend by striking the title in its entirety and inserting in lieu thereof the following:

1 AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 23-15-1037, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, 2TO REAPPORTION THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS OF MISSISSIPPI; AND FOR 3RELATED PURPOSES.