Lost AMENDMENT No. 2 PROPOSED TO

House Bill NO. 1

By Representative(s) Guice

Т	AMEND by striking Section 1 in its entirety and inserting in
2	lieu thereof the following:
3	SECTION 1. Section 23-15-1037, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
4	amended as follows:
5	23-15-1037. (1) The State of Mississippi is hereby divided
6	into <pre>four (4)</pre> congressional districts as follows:
7	FIRST DISTRICT. The First Congressional District shall be
8	composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
9	Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, DeSoto,
10	Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Pontotoc,
11	Prentiss, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, Webster, Winston and
12	Yalobusha; in Attala County the precincts of Williamsville,

McCool, Liberty Chapel, Berea, Carmack, Hesterville, Possumneck,

Jefferson Sub-A, North Carrollton Sub-A, North Carrollton Sub-B,

Rays Shop Sub-A, Jefferson Sub-B, Carrollton, Rays Shop Sub-B and

West Carroll; in Grenada County the precincts of Grenada Box 1,

Elliott, Sweethome, Gore Springs, Futheyville, Providence, Mt.

Nebo, Pleasant Grove, Geeslin, Hardy and Pea Ridge; in Lowndes

County the precincts of Caledonia, Steens A, Steens B, Caldwell,

Co-op A, Steens C, Fairview, Sale, Co-op B, Lee High, Brandon A,

North Central, Northwest, Aponaug, Thompson, Zama, Providence,

East and Ethel; in Carroll County the precincts of Calvary,

23 Brandon B, Air Base A, Air Base B, Air Base C, Air Base D,

13

14

15

16

17

18

19

20

21

22

- 24 Trinity, Rural Hill A, New Hope A, New Hope B, Rural Hill B, Union
- 25 Academy A and Franklin A; and in Panola County the precincts of
- 26 East Sardis, Cold Springs, North Asa, Tocowa, Pope, Courtland,
- 27 Batesville 3, Coles Point, North Springport, South Springport,
- 28 <u>Eureka, East Batesville 4, West Batesville 4, Fern Hill, North</u>
- 29 <u>Batesville A and East Batesville 5</u>.
- 30 **SECOND DISTRICT.** The Second Congressional District shall be
- 31 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
- 32 Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, Copiah, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena,
- 33 <u>Jefferson</u>, <u>Leflore</u>, <u>Quitman</u>, <u>Sharkey</u>, <u>Sunflower</u>, <u>Tallahatchie</u>,
- 34 <u>Tunica, Warren, Washington and Yazoo; that portion of Attala</u>
- 35 <u>County not included in the First Congressional District; that</u>
- 36 portion of Carroll County not included in the First Congressional
- 37 <u>District; that portion of Grenada County not included in the First</u>
- 38 Congressional District; in Hinds County the precincts of 2, 4, 5,
- 39 6, 8, 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23,
- 40 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41,
- 41 42, 43, 45, 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62,
- 42 66, 67, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 79, 80, 81, 82,
- 43 83, 84, 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95, 96, Bolton,
- 44 Edwards, Pinehaven, Brownsville, Cayuga, Cynthia, Pocahontas, St.
- 45 Thomas, Tinnin, Utica 1, Clinton 1, Clinton 2, Clinton 3, Clinton
- 46 4, Clinton 5, Clinton 6, Raymond 1, Raymond 2, Spring Ridge, Byram
- 47 <u>1, Byram 2, Learned, Old Byram, Terry, Chapel Hill, Dry Grove,</u>
- 48 <u>Jackson State and Utica 2; in Madison County the precincts of Bear</u>
- 49 Creek, Ridgeland First Methodist Church, Gluckstadt,
- 50 Lorman-Cavalier, Highland Colony Baptist Church, Whisper Lake,
- 51 <u>Smith School, Magnolia Heights, Flora, Virlilia, Canton Precinct</u>
- 52 <u>5, New Industrial Park, Canton Precinct 4 and Bible Church; and</u>
- 53 that portion of Panola County not included in the First
- 54 <u>Congressional District</u>.
- 55 THIRD DISTRICT. The Third Congressional District shall be
- 56 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
- 57 Adams, Amite, Franklin, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Kemper,
- 58 <u>Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee,</u>

- 59 Oktibbeha, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall and
- 60 Wilkinson; in Clarke County the precincts of South Quitman,
- 61 Harmony Beat 1, Nancy, Pachuta, Hale, Beaver Dam, Enterprise,
- 62 <u>Harmony Beat 3 and Souinlovie; in Covington County the precincts</u>
- of Collins, Mt. Olive, Rock Hill, Dry Creek, Station Creek, Yawn,
- 64 Okahay and Gilmer; that portion of Hinds County not included in
- 65 <u>the Second Congressional District; in Jones County the precincts</u>
- of Gitano, Hebron, Matthews and Soso; that portion of Lowndes
- 67 <u>County not included in the First Congressional District; and that</u>
- 68 portion of Madison County not included in the Second Congressional
- 69 <u>District</u>.
- 70 **FOURTH DISTRICT.** The Fourth Congressional District shall be
- 71 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
- 72 Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Lamar,
- 73 Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Stone and Wayne; that portion of
- 74 <u>Clarke County not included in the Third Congressional District;</u>
- 75 that portion of Covington County not included in the Third
- 76 <u>Congressional District; and that portion of Jones County not</u>
- 77 <u>included in the Third Congressional District</u>.
- 78 * * *
- 79 (2) The boundaries of the congressional districts described
- 80 in subsection (1) of this section shall be the boundaries of the
- 81 counties along such congressional district boundaries as the
- 82 boundaries of such counties existed on October 1, 2001, and the
- 83 precinct boundaries along such congressional district boundaries
- 84 <u>as such precinct boundaries are contained in Census 2000</u>
- 85 <u>redistricting maps (Public Law 94-171) TIGER line file</u>.