## \*\*\*Lost\*\*\* AMENDMENT No. 1 PROPOSED TO

## House Bill NO. 1

## By Representative(s) Formby

- 1 AMEND by striking Section 1 in its entirety and inserting in
- 2 lieu thereof the following:
- 3 **SECTION 1.** Section 23-15-1037, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
- 4 amended as follows:
- 5 23-15-1037. (1) The State of Mississippi is hereby divided
- 6 into <u>four (4)</u> congressional districts as follows:
- 7 FIRST DISTRICT. The First Congressional District shall be
- 8 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
- 9 Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Carroll, Chickasaw, Clay, DeSoto,
- 10 Grenada, Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery,
- 11 Panola, Pontotoc, Prentiss, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union,
- 12 Webster, Yalobusha; and in Lowndes County the precincts of Air
- 13 Base A, Air Base B, Air Base C, Air Base D, Artesia, Brandon A,
- 14 Brandon B, Caldwell, Caledonia, Coleman, Co-op A, Co-op B,
- 15 Fairgrounds A, Fairgrounds C, Fairview, Franklin A, Franklin B,
- 16 Hunt A, Hunt B, Hunt C, Lee High, Mayhew, Mitchell, Plum Grove C,
- 17 Rural Hill B, Sale, Steens A, Steens B, Steens C, Stokes Beard,
- 18 Trinity, Union Academy A, Union Academy B, University A,
- 19 <u>University B and West Lowndes</u>.
- 20 **SECOND DISTRICT.** The Second Congressional District shall be
- 21 composed of the following counties \* \* \*: Adams, Bolivar,
- 22 Claiborne, Coahoma, Copiah, Franklin, Hinds, Holmes, Humphreys,
- 23 <u>Issaquena, Jefferson, Leflore, Quitman, Sharkey, Sunflower,</u>

- 24 <u>Tallahatchie, Tunica, Warren, Washington, Wilkinson and Yazoo</u>.
- 25 THIRD DISTRICT. The Third Congressional District shall be
- 26 composed of the following counties and portions of counties:
- 27 Attala, Choctaw, Clarke, Covington, Jasper, Jefferson Davis,
- 28 Jones, Kemper, Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Madison, Neshoba,
- 29 <u>Newton, Noxubee, Oktibbeha, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Wayne</u>
- 30 and Winston; and that portion of Lowndes County not included in
- 31 <u>the First Congressional District</u>.
- 32 **FOURTH DISTRICT.** The Fourth Congressional District shall be
- 33 composed of the following counties \* \* \*: Amite, Forrest, George,
- 34 Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Lamar, Lincoln, Marion, Pearl
- 35 River, Perry, Pike, Stone and Walthall.
- 36 \* \* \*
- 37 (2) The boundaries of the congressional districts described
- 38 in subsection (1) of this section shall be the boundaries of the
- 39 counties <u>along such congressional district boundaries as the</u>
- 40 boundaries of such counties existed on October 1, 2001, and the
- 41 precinct boundaries along such congressional district boundaries
- 42 <u>as such precinct boundaries are contained in Census 2000</u>
- 43 redistricting maps (Public Law 94-171) TIGER line file.