MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

To: Elections

By: Senator(s) Bryan, Burton, Minor, Gordon, Little, Hamilton, Huggins, Carmichael, Mettetal, Dickerson, Canon, Stogner, Kirby, Nunnelee, King, Chaney, Browning, Smith, Farris, Tollison, Carlton, Chamberlin, Scoper

SENATE BILL NO. 2001

AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 23-15-1037, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, 1 TO REAPPORTION THE CONGRESSIONAL DISTRICTS OF MISSISSIPPI; AND FOR 2 3 RELATED PURPOSES. BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI: 4 SECTION 1. Section 23-15-1037, Mississippi Code of 1972, is 5 amended as follows: 6 7 23-15-1037. (1) The State of Mississippi is hereby divided 8 into four (4) congressional districts as follows: 9 FIRST DISTRICT. The First Congressional District shall be composed of the following counties and portions of counties: 10 Alcorn, Benton, Calhoun, Chickasaw, Choctaw, Clay, DeSoto, 11 Itawamba, Lafayette, Lee, Marshall, Monroe, Montgomery, Pontotoc, 12 13 Prentiss, Tate, Tippah, Tishomingo, Union, Webster, Winston, Yalobusha; in Attala County the precincts of Williamsville, 14 McCool, Liberty Chapel, Berea, Carmack, Hesterville, Possumneck, 15 North Central, Northwest, Aponaug, Thompson, Zama, Providence, 16 East and Ethel; in Carroll County the precincts of Calvary, 17 18 Jefferson Sub-A, North Carrollton Sub-A, North Carrollton Sub-B, Rays Shop Sub-A, Jefferson Sub-B, Carrollton, Rays Shop Sub-B and 19 20 West Carroll; in Grenada County the precincts of Grenada Box 1, 21 Elliott, Sweethome, Gore Springs, Futheyville, Providence, Mt. 22 Nebo, Pleasant Grove, Geeslin, Hardy and Pea Ridge; in Lowndes County the precincts of Caledonia, Steens A, Steens B, Caldwell, 23 Co-op A, Steens C, Fairview, Sale, Co-op B, Lee High, Brandon A, 24 Brandon B, Air Base A, Air Base B, Air Base C, Air Base D, 25 26 Trinity, Rural Hill A, New Hope A, New Hope B, Rural Hill B, Union 27 Academy A and Franklin A; and in Panola County the precincts of

S. B. No. 2001 *SS26/R11* 012E/SS26/R11 PAGE 1 28 East Sardis, Cold Springs, North Asa, Tocowa, Pope, Courtland, 29 Batesville 3, Coles Point, North Springport, South Springport, Eureka, East Batesville 4, West Batesville 4, Fern Hill, North 30 31 Batesville A and East Batesville 5. 32 SECOND DISTRICT. The Second Congressional District shall be 33 composed of the following counties and portions of counties: Bolivar, Claiborne, Coahoma, Copiah, Holmes, Humphreys, Issaquena, 34 Jefferson, Leflore, Quitman, Sharkey, Sunflower, Tallahatchie, 35 Tunica, Warren, Washington, Yazoo; that portion of Attala County 36 not included in the First Congressional District; that portion of 37 38 Carroll County not included in the First Congressional District; that portion of Grenada County not included in the First 39 40 Congressional District; in Hinds County Precincts 2, 4, 5, 6, 8, 41 9, 10, 11, 12, 13, 14, 15, 16, 17, 18, 19, 20, 21, 22, 23, 24, 25, 26, 27, 28, 29, 30, 31, 32, 33, 34, 37, 38, 39, 40, 41, 42, 43, 42 50, 51, 52, 53, 54, 55, 56, 57, 58, 59, 60, 61, 62, 66, 67, 43 45, 68, 69, 70, 71, 72, 73, 74, 75, 76, 77, 79, 80, 81, 82, 83, 84, 44 45 85, 86, 87, 88, 89, 90, 91, 92, 93, 94, 95 and 96, and the precincts of Bolton, Edwards, Pinehaven, Brownsville, Cayuga, 46 47 Cynthia, Pocahontas, St. Thomas, Tinnin, Utica 1, Clinton 1, Clinton 2, Clinton 3, Clinton 4, Clinton 5, Clinton 6, Raymond 1, 48 49 Raymond 2, Spring Ridge, Byram 1, Byram 2, Learned, Old Byram, 50 Terry, Chapel Hill, Dry Grove, Jackson State and Utica 2; in Madison County the precincts of Bear Creek, Ridgeland First 51 52 Methodist Church, Gluckstadt, Lorman-Cavalier, Highland Colony Baptist Church, Whisper Lake, Smith School, Magnolia Heights, 53 54 Flora, Virlilia, Canton Precinct 5, New Industrial Park, Canton Precinct 4 and Bible Church; and that portion of Panola County not 55 56 included in the First Congressional District. 57 THIRD DISTRICT. The Third Congressional District shall be 58 composed of the following counties and portions of counties: 59 Adams, Amite, Franklin, Jasper, Jefferson Davis, Kemper, 60 Lauderdale, Lawrence, Leake, Lincoln, Neshoba, Newton, Noxubee, *SS26/R11* S. B. No. 2001 012E/SS26/R11

PAGE 2

62 Wilkinson; in Clarke County the precincts of South Quitman, Harmony Beat 1, Nancy, Pachuta, Hale, Beaver Dam, Enterprise, 63 Harmony Beat 3 and Souinlovie; in Covington County the precincts 64 65 of Collins, Mt Olive, Rock Hill, Dry Creek, Station Creek, Yawn, 66 Okahay and Gilmer; that portion of Hinds County not included in the Second Congressional District; in Jones County the precincts 67 of Gitano, Hebron, Matthews and Soso; that portion of Lowndes 68 County not included in the First Congressional District; and that 69 portion of Madison County not included in the Second Congressional 70 71 District. 72 FOURTH DISTRICT. The Fourth Congressional District shall be 73 composed of the following counties and portions of counties: 74 Forrest, George, Greene, Hancock, Harrison, Jackson, Lamar, 75 Marion, Pearl River, Perry, Stone, Wayne; that portion of Clarke County not included in the Third Congressional District; that 76 77 portion of Covington County not included in the Third 78 Congressional District; and that portion of Jones County not included in the Third Congressional District. 79 80 * * * The boundaries of the congressional districts described 81 (2) 82 in subsection (1) of this section shall be the boundaries of the counties along such congressional district boundaries as the 83 boundaries of such counties existed on October 1, 2001, and the 84 85 precinct boundaries along such congressional district boundaries as such precinct boundaries are contained in Census 2000 86 87 redistricting maps (Public Law 94-171) TIGER line file. **SECTION 2.** The Chairman of the Standing Joint Congressional 88 Redistricting Committee, with the assistance of counsel employed 89 by the Standing Joint Congressional Redistricting Committee, shall 90 91 submit this act, immediately upon approval by the Governor or 92 approval by the Legislature subsequent to a veto, either to the Attorney General of the United States or to the United States 93 *SS26/R11* S. B. No. 2001 012E/SS26/R11 PAGE 3

Oktibbeha, Pike, Rankin, Scott, Simpson, Smith, Walthall,

61

94 District Court of the District of Columbia, or both, in accordance 95 with the provisions of the Voting Rights Act of 1965, as amended 96 and extended.

97 **SECTION 3.** This act shall take effect and be in force from 98 and after the date it is effectuated under Section 5 of the Voting 99 Rights Act of 1965, as amended and extended.