By: Senator(s) Dearing, Carlton, Furniss, Simmons, Huggins, Walls, Burton To: Rules

SENATE RESOLUTION NO. 64

1 A RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 2001 DELTA 2 STATE UNIVERSITY "LADY STATESMEN" BASKETBALL TEAM FOR THEIR 3 EXCELLENT 2000-2001 SEASON, FOR THEIR GULF SOUTH CONFERENCE 4 TOURNAMENT CHAMPIONSHIP AND FOR THEIR SECOND STRAIGHT NCAA 5 DIVISION II ELITE EIGHT APPEARANCE.

6 WHEREAS, the 2001 Delta State University "Lady Statesmen" 7 Girls Basketball Team completed the 2000-2001 season with an 8 excellent record, with 32 wins against 3 losses and a 14-2 Gulf 9 South Conference record; and

WHEREAS, the Lady Statesmen had a fantastic tournament season 10 11 as follows: 2001 Gulf South Conference Tournament Champions; 2001 12 Gulf South Conference West Division Champions; 2001 NCAA Division II South Region Champions; 2001 NCAA Division II Elite Eight 13 participants; third straight GSC tournament title and 6th in the 14 last seven years; captured 14th Overall GSC title - includes 15 tournament and non-tournament; captured the school's 11th NCAA 16 17 Division II South Regional Title; made 15th NCAA tournament 18 appearance and 10th Elite Eight appearance; and made second straight NCAA Division II Elite Eight appearance; and 19 20 WHEREAS, the following players earned individual honors on 21 behalf of their team: Caroline Boclair and Katrina King were named to the All-Gulf South Conference First Team; Caroline 22 Boclair was named the Gulf South Conference's West Division Player 23 of the Year; Caroline Boclair and Katrina King earned 2001 GSC 24 All-Tournament honors; Caroline Boclair was named the GSC 25 Tournament MVP; Caroline Boclair was named to the First-Team 26 27 All-South Region while Katrina King was named to the Second Team; Katrina King, Caroline Boclair and Jamie Howard earned NCAA 28 *SS02/R1451* 64 S. R. No. N1/2 01/SS02/R1451 PAGE 1

Division II All-South Region tournament honors; Caroline Boclair was named the Most Outstanding Player of the NCAA Division II South Region Tournament; Megan Teel earned Winter Academic All-Gulf South Conference laurels; and Jamie Howard, Leah Jones, Bernadette Sayles, Katrina King, Tasha Watt and Janna Lyons were named the Gulf South Conference Academic Honor Roll; and

35 WHEREAS, Coach Lloyd Clark and his staff is to be 36 congratulated for leading this team during this landmark season; 37 and

38 WHEREAS, this is a truly remarkable group of student 39 athletes, and it is with great pride that we recognize the 40 accomplishments of this team and their coach who have brought 41 honor to their university, their community and to the State of 42 Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF
MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the 2001
Delta State University "Lady Statesmen" Basketball Team for their
excellent 2000-2001 season, for their Gulf South Conference
Tournament Championship and for their second straight NCAA
Division II Elite Eight appearance, and wish them continued
success in their athletic and scholastic endeavors.

50 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be 51 presented to Coach Clark on behalf of the entire team, the 52 President of Delta State University on behalf of the Board of 53 Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning and be made 54 available to the Capitol Press Corps.

S. R. No. 64 *SSO2/R1451* 01/SS02/R1451 ST: Delta State University "Lady Statesmen" PAGE 2 Basketball Team; commend.