MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

REGULAR SESSION 2001

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Tollison, Chamberlin, Mettetal, Michel, Robertson, Johnson (19th), Nunnelee, Jackson, Harden, Gordon, Gollott, Smith, Horhn, Simmons, Harvey, Thames, Kirby, Chaney, Scoper, Walls, Farris, Ross, Williamson, Huggins, Frazier, Dawkins, Dearing, Posey, Hewes, Burton, Hyde-Smith, Carmichael, Furniss

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 610

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE OLE 1 MISS "REBELS" BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM FOR WINNING THE SEC WEST TITLE 2 AND FOR ADVANCING TO ITS FIRST-EVER NCAA TOURNAMENT SWEET 16 3 4 APPEARANCE.

WHEREAS, the Ole Miss "Rebels" Boys Basketball Team has 5 enjoyed its best-ever season, cruising to a 27-8 overall record, 6 7 an 11-5 SEC mark and the SEC Western Division crown, which was Ole Miss' third in the last five years; and 8

WHEREAS, the University of Mississippi team, which was ranked 9 10 No. 14 in the Associated Press (AP) Top 25 poll and No. 13 in ESPN/USA Today Top 25 poll, advanced to the SEC Championship Game 11 12 against Kentucky; and

13 WHEREAS, the Rebels were an at-large entry into the NCAA Tournament and advanced to its first-ever NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 14 15 appearance and met No. 4 Arizona in the Midwest Regional semifinals on Friday, March 23, 2001, losing 65-55 in a very 16 17 hard-fought game, televised by CBS; the Rebels were the No. 3 seed, while Arizona was the No. 2 seed in the Regional tournament; 18 19 and

20 WHEREAS, this was a tough basketball team mentally and physically; the Rebels had court savvy and don't beat themselves; 21 22 they weren't afraid of the game's blue-collar aspects, such as 23 defense and rebounding; tough man-to-man was the team's calling 24 card; and

25 WHEREAS, Center Rahim Lockhart, the leading scorer and 26 rebounder, was a first-team All-SEC pick; Freshman forward, Justin Reed, was chosen the league's top rookie player; there was plenty 27

28 of firepower at the guard positions with David Sanders, Jason

29 Holmes and Aaron Harper, and veteran leadership at the point with 30 Jason Flanigan and Jason Harrison; and

31 WHEREAS, the team was led by Coach Rod Barnes, who was named 32 the 2001 Naismith National Men's Coach of the Year and also SEC 33 Coach of the Year; and

WHEREAS, the Rebels team roster is as follows: 34 STARTERS: G-David Sanders (6-3, So.) 7.1 ppg, 2.6 rpg; G-Jason Holmes (6-5, 35 Sr.) 6.4 ppg, 2.5 rpg; G-Jason Flanigan (6-1, Sr.) 7.3 ppg, 3.0 36 rpg, 2.2 apg; F-Justin Reed (6-8, Fr.) 11.1 ppg, 5.8 rpg; F-Rahim 37 38 Lockhart (6-8, Sr.) 12.8 ppg, 8.3 rpg, 1.4 bpg; KEY RESERVES: F-Aaron Harper (6-7, Fr.) 9.4 ppg, 2.9 rpg, 2.0 apg; G-Jason 39 40 Harrison (5-5, Jr.) 7.8 ppg, 1.9 rpg, 3.0 apg; and G-Emmanuel Wade 41 (6-3, So.) 4.1 ppg, 1.7 rpg; and

42

WHEREAS, the Rebel's Statistical Leaders are as follow:

43	POINTS	Avg.	FG%	FT%	3P%
44	Rahim Lockhart	13.0	55.4	47.8	0.0
45	Justin Reed	11.0	47.8	56.4	13.0
46	Aaron Harper	9.2	35.2	75.0	35.4
47	REBOUNDS		TOT	AVG	HIGH
48	Rahim Lockhart		282	8.1	14
49	Justin Reed		205	5.9	13
50	Jason Flanigan		107	3.1	6
51	ASSISTS		TOT	AVG	HIGH
52	Jason Harrison		104	3	8
53	Jason Flanigan		76	2.2	б
54	Aaron Harper		70	2	7
55	FOULS		TOT	AVG	DGL
56	Rahim Lockhart		120	3.4	5
57	Justin Reed		105	3	2
58	David Sanders		78	2.2	3

59 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the 60 outstanding accomplishments of this group of student-athletes, who S. C. R. No. 610 *SS02/R1447* 01/SS02/R1447 PAGE 2 61 have made the 2000-2001 season so exciting for all Mississippians, 62 and who have brought honor to the University of Mississippi and to 63 the State of Mississippi:

64 NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF 65 MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That 66 we do hereby commend and congratulate the 2000-2001 University of Mississippi "Ole Miss Rebel" Basketball Team and Coach Rod Barnes 67 for winning the SEC Western Division crown and for advancing to 68 its first-ever NCAA Tournament Sweet 16 appearance, and wish this 69 team continued success in future seasons and in their academic and 70 71 career endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be presented to the Ole Miss Basketball Team, Chancellor Robert Khayat on behalf of the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.