MISSISSIPPI LEGISLATURE

REGULAR SESSION 2001

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Dearing, Carlton, Simmons, Furniss, Gordon, Huggins, Posey, Carmichael, Hyde-Smith, Robertson, Burton, Williamson, Chamberlin, Dawkins, Kirby, White (29th), Frazier, Harden, Moffatt, Ross, Farris, Tollison, Horhn, Canon, Dickerson, Little, Mettetal, Browning, Lee, Nunnelee, Scoper, Hewes, Minor, Thames, Gollott, Smith

SENATE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 512

A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING AND CONGRATULATING THE 1 DELTA STATE UNIVERSITY "FIGHTING OKRA" FOOTBALL TEAM AND COACH 2 3 STEVE CAMPBELL FOR WINNING THEIR FIRST NATIONAL CHAMPIONSHIP. WHEREAS, the Delta State University "Fighting Okra" Football 4 5 Team has won the NCAA Division II National Championship, its first National Championship, by trouncing Bloomsburg State 63-34; and 6 WHEREAS, as a result of this championship, the Statesmen were 7 8 ranked Number 1 in the Division II football poll by U.S.A. Today; 9 and

10 WHEREAS, eighteen of the 27 teams that scored first have won 11 the Division II National Championship, but Delta State overcame 12 Bloomsburg in Florence, Alabama, scoring first, and the Statesmen 13 also overcame their first post-season deficit; and

WHEREAS, in the championship game Delta State, led by Junior 14 15 Quarterback Josh Bright and Coach of the Year Steve Campbell, would establish four new NCAA records, as the Statesmen scored the 16 most points in the game since Northwest Missouri scored 58 last 17 18 season, and would also set a new game rushing record with 524 yards rushing, while accumulating 649 yards total offense, also a 19 new NCAA record along with 36 first downs in the game, also a new 20 21 NCAA mark; and

22 WHEREAS, Delta State finished the year 14-1; and 23 WHEREAS, prior to the Division II Championship game, the 24 Statesmen defeated North Dakota State 36-16 in the semifinals, 25 held off Catawba College 20-14 in the quarter-finals, and in front 26 of the home crowd at Travis E. Parker Field convincingly defeated 27 Valdosta State 49-12 in the first round of the NCAA Division II 28 playoffs; and

29 WHEREAS, versatile Quarterback Josh Bright is the second 30 winner from Delta State to win the coveted Conerly Trophy, and 31 Coach Steve Campbell and his staff are gaining quite a reputation 32 as they lead the Statesmen to excellence; and

33 WHEREAS, it is with great pride that we recognize the 34 singular achievement of this talented group of student-athletes, 35 who have brought great honor to their university, their fans, 36 their community and to the State of Mississippi:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Delta State University "Fighting Okra" Football Team and Coach Steve Campbell, for winning the NCAA Division II National Championship, their first national championship, and wish them continued success in their future athletic and scholastic endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be presented to the "Fighting Okra" Football Team and Coach Campbell and his staff, and be forwarded to the President of Delta State University and the Board of Trustees of State Institutions of Higher Learning, and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.