By: Representatives Eads, Gadd, Grist, McBride, Reynolds

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 137

1	Α	CONCURRENT	RESOLUTION	COMMENDING	AND	CONGRATULATING	THE

- 2 OXFORD HIGH SCHOOL CHARGERS BOYS BASKETBALL TEAM FOR THEIR
- 3 OUTSTANDING 2000-2001 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE STATE 4A
- 4 CHAMPIONSHIP.
- 5 WHEREAS, the Oxford High School Chargers Boys Basketball Team
- 6 finished an outstanding 2000-2001 season with a record of 33 wins
- 7 and seven losses; and
- 8 WHEREAS, the Chargers participated in various tournaments
- 9 throughout the season, which produced championships at the North
- 10 Ponotoc Tournament and the Tri-County Tournament; and
- 11 WHEREAS, the Chargers also brought to Oxford High School
- 12 their third straight District 1A Championship and defeated their
- 13 competition in the Class 4A State Championship to bring the title
- 14 to Oxford High School; and
- 15 WHEREAS, the Oxford High School Chargers have evolved into a
- 16 Class 4A powerhouse through the efforts and dedication of many
- 17 great players who have sacrificed time and energy to better
- 18 themselves and bring honor to Oxford High School, including:
- 19 Anthony Cohran, Vincent Camper, Micah Joy, Bennie Denton, Rico
- 20 McThune, Chris Barber, Josh Ivy, Andrew Westmoreland and Beau
- 21 Gibb; and
- 22 WHEREAS, the Chargers have been superbly coached and inspired
- 23 the past four years by Head Coach Drew Tyler, who has brought a
- 24 consistent high-spirited energy level to the Chargers as
- 25 demonstrated by his outstanding overall record of 118 wins to 25
- 26 losses; and

27	WHEREAS, the Chargers Boys Basketball Team has been
28	surrounded by a focused and dedicated support staff, which
29	includes Michael Henry, Will Overstreet and Shelby Wortham, and by
30	student statistician, Katie Allen, whose combined efforts have
31	placed the Oxford High School Chargers at the top of the State 4A
32	rankings; and
33	WHEREAS, during the 2000-2001 season, the Chargers have
34	developed a winning and cooperative spirit and brought a high
35	degree of sportsmanship to the basketball court, and this attitude
36	reflects great credit upon the individual players and their
37	coaches and bring honor to Oxford High School; and
38	WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
39	and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young
40	people of our state, who are its future:
41	NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
42	REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
43	THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Oxford
44	High School Chargers Boys Basketball Team, Head Coach Drew Tyler
45	and Assistant Coaches Michael Henry, Will Overstreet and Shelby
46	Wortham for their outstanding 2000-2001 season, for winning the
47	State 4A Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to
48	their athletic endeavors.
49	BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
50	furnished to Oxford High School, Head Coach Drew Tyler and
51	Assistant Coaches Michael Henry, Will Overstreet and Shelby

Wortham, and to members of the Capitol Press Corps.

52