N1/2

By: Representative Warren

To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 101

1 2 3	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
4	WHEREAS, on March 21, 2001, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an
5	esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which
6	has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will
7	celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and
8	WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
9	outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's
LO	All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful
L1	community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi
L2	State Board for Community and Junior Colleges to participate in
L3	the Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition;
L4	and
L5	WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
L6	members of the 2000 All-Mississippi Academic First Team: Joshua
L7	Howard, Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale; Tricia Stoll,
L8	Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Ashley Jones, East
L9	Central Community College in Decatur; Jeremy Jarvis, East
20	Mississippi Community College in Scooba; Laura Dunn, Hinds
21	Community College in Raymond; Melissa Stamboulieh, Holmes
22	Community College in Ridgeland; Lisa Johnston-Gordon, Itawamba
23	Community College in Tupelo; Jason Pratt, Jones County Junior
24	College in Ellisville; Erica Huntly, Meridian Community College in
25	Meridian; Daniel Watson, Meridian Community College in Meridian;
26	Charles I Danie Minimizzioni Dalta Communita Callona in Manufacale
	Stephanie Evans, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead;

H. C. R. No. 101 *HRO7/R1944* 01/HR07/R1944 PAGE 1 (CTE\HS)

```
28 Gautier; Brandi Hopper, Northeast Mississippi Community College in
```

- 29 Booneville; Erik Brewer, Northwest Mississippi Community College
- 30 in Senatobia; Alison Dunn, Pearl River Community College in
- 31 Poplarville; Euley Rider IV, Southwest Mississippi Community
- 32 College in Summit; and
- 33 WHEREAS, the Second Team includes LaSondra Cole, Coahoma
- 34 Community College in Clarksdale; Janet Carter, Copiah-Lincoln
- 35 Community College in Natchez; Dana Brooks, Copiah-Lincoln
- 36 Community College in Wesson; John Kelly, Copiah-Lincoln Community
- 37 College in Wesson; Sarah Johnson, East Central Community College
- 38 in Decatur; April Puckett, East Mississippi Community College in
- 39 Scooba; Leslie Shelton, East Mississippi Community College in
- 40 Mayhew; Diana Cain, East Mississippi Community College in Mayhew;
- 41 Dorothy Price, Hinds Community College in Jackson; Kimberly
- 42 Robinson, Hinds Community College in Jackson; Gary Sanders, Hinds
- 43 Community College in Jackson (Nursing/Allied Health Center);
- 44 Michael Tucker, Hinds Community College in Jackson (Nursing/Allied
- 45 Health Center); Westley Gunter, Hinds Community College in Pearl;
- 46 Shanda Yates, Hinds Community College in Pearl; Candise Taylor,
- 47 Hinds Community College in Raymond; Otha Kelly, Hinds Community
- 48 College in Utica; Margaret Ward, Hinds Community College in Utica;
- 49 Gina Hull, Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; Debra Leopold,
- 50 Hinds Community College in Vicksburg; Neeli Cox, Holmes Community
- 51 College in Goodman; Diana Rone, Holmes Community College in
- 52 Goodman; Ashley Horne, Holmes Community College in Grenada; Amber
- 53 Worsham, Holmes Community College in Grenada; Melissa Welch,
- 54 Holmes Community College in Ridgeland; LaShawna Fant, Itawamba
- 55 Community College in Fulton; Ginger Wood, Itawamba Community
- 56 College in Fulton; Robin Benson, Itawamba Community College in
- 57 Tupelo; Melanie Russell, Jones County Junior College in

PAGE 2 (CTE\HS)

- 58 Ellisville; Johnathan McClendon, Mary Holmes College in West
- 59 Point; Angela Smith, Mary Holmes College in West Point; Jonathan
- Bozeman, Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead; Shirlynn
 H. C. R. No. 101 *HR07/R1944*
 01/HR07/R1944

- 61 Lepre, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Gautier;
- 62 Cynthia Blackwell, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in
- 63 Gulfport; Joshua Price, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
- 64 in Gulfport; Judy Dedeaux, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community
- 65 College in Perkinston; John Knight, Mississippi Gulf Coast
- 66 Community College in Perkinston; Julie Sims, Northeast Mississippi
- 67 Community College in Booneville; Wanda Prince, Northwest
- 68 Mississippi Community College in Senatobia; Melissa Ball, Pearl
- 69 River Community College in Poplarville; Jobina Khoo, Southwest
- 70 Mississippi Community College in Summit; Sharon Cooper, Wood
- 71 College in Mathiston; and
- 72 WHEREAS, as members of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- 73 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
- 74 intellect, outstanding leadership and determination in achieving
- 75 academic excellence; and
- 76 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- 77 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for
- 78 themselves and their academic institutions the respect and
- 79 admiration of this Legislature; and
- 80 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 81 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young
- 82 people of our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 84 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 85 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of
- 86 Phi Theta Kappa and extend our heartiest wishes for success in all
- 87 their future endeavors.
- 88 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 89 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- 90 Press Corps.