2001 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Cuevas, Hewes, Gollott, Dawkins

Senate Resolution 13

(As Adopted by Senate)


WHEREAS, the Harrison Central High School Cheerleaders won first place in the co-ed division at the Mississippi High School Activity Association's State Cheerleading Championship held in December 2000; and

WHEREAS, the squad was also awarded the Academic Award given to the squad with the highest grade-point average in the co-ed division; and

WHEREAS, this dedicated team, consisting of 12 girls and 11 boys, has been practicing 14 to 20 hours per week since August; and

WHEREAS, they practice on weekends and evenings perfecting their elite stunts, dance routines and cheers; and

WHEREAS, in addition to competing in various contests, the team also cheers for Harrison Central High School football and basketball games; and

WHEREAS, the team has been ably coached by Sponsor Diane Denley, Assistant Sponsor Michelle Price and Choreographer Melissa Braxton; and

WHEREAS, the dedicated team members consist of Valen Bates, Benji Borrelli, Candice Bryant, Bianca Clark, Shalon Edwards, Leslie Estes, Julio Gonzalez, Jared Jones, Mitchell Locklear, Mary Macias, Tanna McGee, Mike Modick, Patrick Moody, Tom Moore, Chase Moran, William Rankin, Kari Simmons, Tiffany Stark, Brandon Stuckey, Thomas Truhett, Kelley Walkinshaw, Ashley White and Lauren White; and

WHEREAS, in 2001, the squad competed at the Mardi Gras Nationals held in New Orleans and won the national co-ed championship at this competition; and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Mississippi Senate to recognize and commend achievement on the part of the citizens of this state, especially when demonstrated by our students, who are the future:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we do hereby commend the Harrison Central High School Cheerleaders for their hard work and achievement, and congratulate the squad for their championship wins.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That a copy of this resolution be presented to Harrison Central High School and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.