By: Turner

To: Fees, Salaries and Administration; Appropriations

## SENATE BILL NO. 2987

1 2 3 4	AN ACT TO AMEND SECTION 25-3-33, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO REMOVE THE FIXED SALARIES FOR THE CLERK OF THE SUPREME COURT AND THE STATE LAW LIBRARIAN; TO AMEND SECTIONS 5-1-77 AND 9-3-14, MISSISSIPPI CODE OF 1972, TO CONFORM; AND FOR RELATED PURPOSES.
5	BE IT ENACTED BY THE LEGISLATURE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI:
6	SECTION 1. Section 25-3-33, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
7	amended as follows:[CSQ1]
8	25-3-33. The annual salaries of the following appointive
9	state and district officials and employees are fixed as follows:
10	Deputy Attorney General, not to exceed\$72,800.00
11	Assistant Attorneys General shall each
12	receive annual salaries in an amount
13	to be fixed by the Attorney General
14	but not to exceed
15	Military DepartmentNational Guard:
16	Adjutant General80,000.00
17	Department of Banking and Consumer Finance:
18	Commissioner85,000.00
19	Chairman of the State Tax Commission
20	(Commissioner of Revenue)91,000.00
21	Associate Commissioners, each42,000.00
22	Director of Emergency Management Agency65,000.00
23	Department of Public Safety:
24	Commissioner of Public Safety80,000.00
25	Director, Office of Mississippi
26	Highway Safety Patrol, or
27	his successor70,000.00

28	Director, Office of Support Services,
29	or his successor70,000.00
30	Department of Human Services:
31	Director, not to exceed85,000.00
32	Workers' Compensation Commission:
33	Chairman80,000.00
34	Members, each
35	Executive Director
36	Administrative Judge, each
37	Archives and History:
38	Director, not to exceed
39	State Forester
40	State Oil and Gas Board:
41	Secretary-Supervisor70,000.00
42	Educational Television Authority:
43	Executive Director
44	Director, Mississippi Library Commission,
45	not to exceed
46	Executive Secretary, Public Service
47	Commission65,000.00
48	Parole Board:
49	Chairman50,000.00
50	Administrative Assistant for
51	Parole Matters42,000.00
52	Members, each44,000.00
53	Governor's State Bond Advisory Division:
54	Director55,000.00
55	Employment Security Commission:
56	Executive Director, not to exceed70,000.00
57	Executive Director, Department of
58	Mental Health, to be determined by the
59	State Board of Mental Health, not
60	to exceed85,000.00

51	Director, Division of Medicaid,
52	not to exceed85,000.00
53	Director, State Department of Transportation,
54	not to exceed85,000.00
55	State Entomologist65,000.00
56 <b>*</b> *	* *
67	State Aid Engineer, Division of State
58	Aid Road Construction70,000.00
59	Executive Director, Judicial Performance
70	Commission65,000.00
71	Executive Director, Department of Finance
72	and Administration85,000.00
73	Superintendent, Mississippi School for the
74	Blind, to be determined by the State
75	Board of Education, not to exceed65,000.00
76	Superintendent, Mississippi School for the Deaf,
77	to be determined by the State Board
78	of Education, not to exceed65,000.00
79	Executive Director, State Fair Commission65,000.00
30	Executive Director, Department of Wildlife,
31	Fisheries and Parks80,000.00
32	Executive Director, Department of Environmental
33	Quality85,000.00
34	Executive Director, Pat Harrison Waterway
35	District
36	Executive Director, Pearl River Basin
37	Development District61,000.00
38	Executive Director, Pearl River Valley Water
39	Supply District
90	Executive Director, Tombigbee River Valley
91	Water Management District61,000.00
92	Director, Soil and Water Conservation
93	Commission60,000.00

94	Commissioner, Mississippi Department of
95	Corrections85,000.00
96	Executive Director, Mississippi Department of
97	Information Technology Services85,000.00
98	Executive Director, Mississippi Industries
99	for the Blind
100	Director, Mississippi Bureau of Narcotics60,000.00
101	Executive Secretary, State Veterans Affairs
102	Board55,000.00
103	Executive Officer, Veterans' Home Purchase
104	Board65,000.00
105	Chief Administrative Officer, Motor Vehicle
106	Commission55,000.00
107	Stadium Manager, Mississippi Veterans
108	Memorial Stadium55,000.00
109	Executive Director, Mississippi Arts
110	Commission55,000.00
111	Director, Mississippi Board of Nursing60,000.00
112	Director, State Board of Pharmacy60,000.00
113	Director, State Board of Public Contractors50,000.00
114	Director, Real Estate Commission55,000.00
115	Director of Support Services, Department
116	of Rehabilitation Services80,000.00
117	Executive Director, State Fire Academy55,000.00
118	Executive Director, Law Enforcement
119	Officers Training Academy50,000.00
120	Executive Director, State Board of
121	Accountancy
122	Executive Director, Mississippi
123	Gaming Commission90,000.00
124	Executive Director, Mississippi
125	Department of Marine Resources
126	Executive Director, State Board of

127	Registration for Professional
128	Engineers and Land Surveyors55,000.00
129	Executive Director, Public Utilities
130	Staff85,000.00
131	* * *
132	State Personnel Director75,000.00
133	Manager, Farmers Central Market,
134	Department of Agriculture and
135	Commerce40,000.00
136	State Veterinarian70,000.00
137	Executive Director, Mississippi Ethics
138	Commission70,000.00
139	SECTION 2. Section 5-1-77, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
140	amended as follows:[CSQ2]
141	5-1-77. There shall be a mail carrier and distributor for
142	the Legislature of the state, who shall be elected by the
143	Legislature on joint vote of the two houses, and whose term of
144	office shall be for a period of four (4) years.
145	SECTION 3. Section 9-3-14, Mississippi Code of 1972, is
146	amended as follows:[CSQ3]
147	9-3-14. The clerk of the Supreme Court shall be appointed by
148	majority vote of the Supreme Court, * * * shall serve at the
149	pleasure of the court <u>and shall be compensated as prescribed by</u>
150	the Chief Justice of the Supreme Court.
151	SECTION 4. This act shall take effect and be in force from
152	and after July 1, 2000, provided that Senate Concurrent Resolution
152	No. 557 2000 Pegular Session is ratified by the electorate