By: Weathersby To: Rules

HOUSE RESOLUTION NO. 34

1 2 3	A RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE FLORENCE HIGH SCHOOL EAGLES BOYS SOCCER TEAM FOR THEIR OUTSTANDING 1999-2000 SEASON AND FOR WINNING THE CLASS 4A STATE CHAMPIONSHIP.
4	WHEREAS, the Florence High School Eagles Boys Soccer Team
5	finished the 1999-2000 season with an outstanding record of 12
6	wins and three losses; and
7	WHEREAS, the Eagles did very well in the state playoffs this
8	year, defeating Neshoba Central in the first round, defeating
9	Oxford in the quarter final round, defeating Pearl in the
10	semifinal round and defeating Oak Grove for the Class 4A State
11	Championship in Pearl, Mississippi, on February 12, 2000; and
12	WHEREAS, the 1999-2000 Florence High School Eagles Boys
13	Soccer Team includes the following players: Louie Garrett, Chris
14	Jones, Jared Rickman, Travis Johnson, Jarrett Usry, Josh
15	Blackwell, Lucas Bowen, Josh Cavanaugh, Ahmad Braddy, Matt
16	VanSant, C.J. Stanley, Eric Hall, Jon-Erik Ray, Derek Jacobs, Mark
17	Vincent, Matt Witter, Brice Thompson, Nathan Peel, Cory Jones,
18	Steven Allsouissi, Chance Johnson, Craig Billberry, Robbie Walker,
19	Matthew Wilder, Michael Wilder, Adam Ramage, Micah Usry, Joseph
20	Simpson, Lee Boone, Head Coach Steve Jones, Assistant Coaches
21	Scott Moore, Junior Johnson and Jim Rickman, Student Assistant
22	Darren Clark and Statistician Jake Johnson; and

WHEREAS, the Eagles have been superbly coached and inspired

by Head Coach Steve Jones and Assistant Coaches Scott Moore,

Junior Johnson and Jim Rickman, who have broadened the players'

knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

23

24

25

26

- 27 WHEREAS, the Eagles have developed a winning and cooperative
- 28 spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship, and their activities
- 29 and attitudes reflect great credit upon the individual players and
- 30 their coaches and bring honor to Florence High School; and
- 31 WHEREAS, it is the policy of the House of Representatives to
- 32 recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the
- 33 youth of our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 35 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we commend and
- 36 congratulate Principal Sandy Tabor, the Florence High School Boys
- 37 Soccer Team and their coaches, Head Coach Steve Jones and
- 38 Assistant Coaches Scott Moore, Junior Johnson and Jim Rickman, for
- 39 their outstanding 1999-2000 season, for winning the Class 4A State
- 40 Championship and for displaying tireless devotion to their
- 41 athletic endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 43 furnished to Florence High School, and be made available to the
- 44 Capitol Press Corps.