To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 91

1 2	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MISSISSIPPI ACADEMY OF SCIENCES AND MISSISSIPPI JUNIOR ACADEMY OF SCIENCES AWARD WINNERS.
3	WHEREAS, the Mississippi Academy of Sciences is an
4	organization composed of scientists, engineers and science
5	educators from schools, colleges, universities, governments and
6	industries across the state; and
7	WHEREAS, the Mississippi Academy of Sciences supports the
8	scientific needs of the state through enhanced scientific
9	education, basic and applied research and professional service;
10	and
11	WHEREAS, Dr. Richard H. Sullivan of Jackson State University
12	has received the Mississippi Academy of Sciences Award for the
13	Outstanding Contribution to Science; and
14	WHEREAS, the Mississippi Junior Academy of Sciences is an
15	organization of outstanding high school students that are our
16	nation's potential scientists, engineers, science educators and
17	mathematicians; and
18	WHEREAS, the Mississippi Junior Academy of Sciences is
19	designed to be an opportunity for these students to gain
20	experience and present their research at both the state and
21	national levels; and

WHEREAS, Mr. Philip Elchorn, a senior at Jackson Academy, was

WHEREAS, Mr. Alexander Grant Clark, a senior at St. Andrew's

named the Clyde Sheely Award Winner for his paper, "Suture/Eyelet

Orientation Effects on Bone Anchor Failure Strengths: Improving

Orthopedic Surgical Repair of Tendons Torn Off Bone"; and

22

23

24

25

26

- 27 Episcopal School, earned second place honors for his paper,
- 28 "Dependence on Cutoff Distance in Protein Fold Recognition Scoring
- 29 Functions"; and
- 30 WHEREAS, in addition, at the national meeting of the Academy
- 31 of Sciences, Dr. Joan McCoy-Messer, an instructor at Jones County
- 32 Junior College, was named the National Director of the American
- 33 Junior Academy of Sciences; and
- 34 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 35 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the hard work
- 36 and dedication of these individuals:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 38 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 39 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the
- 40 Mississippi Academy of Sciences and the Mississippi Junior Academy
- 41 of Sciences Award Winners and extend our heartiest wishes in all
- 42 their future endeavors.
- BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 44 furnished to the Mississippi Academy of Sciences and the
- 45 Mississippi Junior Academy of Sciences and to the members of the
- 46 Capitol Press Corps.