By: Warren To: Rules

HOUSE CONCURRENT RESOLUTION NO. 87 (As Adopted by House and Senate)

1 2 3	A CONCURRENT RESOLUTION COMMENDING THE MEMBERS OF PHI THETA KAPPA'S ALL-MISSISSIPPI ACADEMIC TEAM ON THE OCCASION OF "MISSISSIPPI PHI THETA KAPPA DAY."
4	WHEREAS, on March 29, 2000, members of Phi Theta Kappa, an
5	esteemed honor society for community and junior colleges, which
6	has its international headquarters in Jackson, Mississippi, will
7	celebrate "Mississippi Phi Theta Kappa Day"; and
8	WHEREAS, special commendations are extended to the
9	outstanding scholars who comprise Phi Theta Kappa's
10	All-Mississippi Academic Team, a team of highly successful
11	community and junior college students assembled by the Mississippi
12	State Board of Community and Junior Colleges to participate in the
13	Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team competition; and
14	WHEREAS, the following students have been recognized as
15	members of the 1999 All-Mississippi Academic Team: The First Team
16	includes Andrea Suggs, Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale;
17	Jennie Turner, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson; Chris
18	Weems, East Central Community College in Scooba; Stephanie Sharp,
19	East Mississippi Community College; Laura Peterson, Hinds
20	Community College in Raymond; David Tipton, III, Holmes Community
21	College in Grenada; Tara Randolph, Holmes Community College in
22	Goodman; Carolyn Matthews, Itawamba Community College in Tupelo;
23	Kristi Hill, Jones County Junior College in Ellisville; Adelia
24	Luke, Meridian Community College in Meridian; Ashley Walker,
25	Mississippi Delta Community College in Moorhead; Ashley Lee,
26	Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Jackson County; Carrie

- 27 Morris, Northeast Mississippi Community College in Booneville;
- 28 Marcella Lentz, Northwest Mississippi Community College in
- 29 Senatobia; Tiffany Vines, Pearl River Community College in
- 30 Poplarville; Della Hamilton, Southwest Mississippi Community
- 31 College in Summit; and
- 32 WHEREAS, those students receiving Honorable Mention include:
- 33 Coleen Lester, Coahoma Community College in Clarksdale;
- 34 Christopher Robinson, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Wesson;
- 35 Toni Martin, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Angelia
- 36 McKey, Copiah-Lincoln Community College in Natchez; Craig McRae,
- 37 East Central Community College in Decatur; Beth Warren, East
- 38 Mississippi Community College in Scooba; Dione Bagby, Hinds
- 39 Community College in Vicksburg; Stephanie Wilson, Hinds Community
- 40 College in Vicksburg; Doris McClure, Hinds Community College in
- 41 Utica; Donna Montgomery, Hinds Community College in Utica; Juanita
- 42 Childs, Hinds Community College in Raymond; Mildrey Egues, Hinds
- 43 Community College in Rankin County; Natasha Harrison, Hinds
- 44 Community College in Rankin County; Lisa Coley, Hinds Community
- 45 College-Nursing Allied Health; Charlye Barnes, Hinds Community
- 46 College in Jackson; Sara Lenard, Hinds Community College in
- 47 Jackson; Charles Dannel, Holmes Community College in Ridgeland;
- 48 Tanya (Tonee) Leggett, Holmes Community College in Ridgeland; Mary
- 49 Mims, Holmes Community College in Grenada; Alisa Kirk, Holmes
- 50 Community College in Goodman; Courtney Rackley, Itawamba Community
- 51 College in Tupelo; Richard Beasley, Jr., Itawamba Community
- 52 College in Fulton; Ginger Todd, Jones County Junior College in
- 53 Ellisville; Hollie Campe, Meridian Community College in Meridian;
- 54 Douglas Johnson, Jr., Mississippi Delta Community College in
- 55 Moorhead; Philip Natale, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
- 56 in Perkinston; Jami Webb, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College
- 57 in Perkinston; Jolene Johnson, Mississippi Gulf Coast Community
- 58 College in Jefferson Davis County; Tammy Poche, Mississippi Gulf
- 59 Coast Community College in Jefferson Davis County; Warren Scara,
- 60 Mississippi Gulf Coast Community College in Jackson County; Chad
- 61 Gober, Northeast Mississippi Community College in Booneville;
- 62 Justin Ferguson, Northwest Mississippi Community College in
- 63 Senatobia; Kacey Edwards, Pearl River Community College in

- 64 Poplarville; Carrie Brumfield, Pearl River Community College in
- 65 Hattiesburg; Jennifer Hudson, Pearl River Community College in
- 66 Hattiesburg; Joshua Vincent, Southwest Mississippi Community
- 67 College in Summit; Natalie O'Quinn, Wood College in Mathiston; and
- 68 Eric Phillips, Wood College in Mathiston; and
- 69 WHEREAS, as a member of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi
- 70 Academic Team, these students have demonstrated impressive
- 71 intellect, outstanding leadership and a determination to achieving
- 72 academic excellence; and
- 73 WHEREAS, the praiseworthy and devoted efforts of the members
- 74 of Phi Theta Kappa's All-Mississippi Academic Team have earned for
- 75 them and their academic institutions the respect and admiration of
- 76 this Legislature; and
- 77 WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize
- 78 and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the young
- 79 people of our state, who are its future:
- NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF
- 81 REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING
- 82 THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the members of
- 83 Phi Theta Kappa and extend our heartiest wishes for success in all
- 84 their future endeavors.
- 85 BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be
- 86 furnished to Phi Theta Kappa and to the members of the Capitol
- 87 Press Corps.