2000 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representatives Martinson, Barnett (116th), Bowles, Brown, Chism, Clark, Clarke, Creel, Dickson, Eads, Ellzey, Flaggs, Fleming, Fillingane, Fredericks, Frierson, Gibbs, Green, Hamilton, Holloway, Horne, Hudson, Ishee, Ketchings, Lott, Maples, Mayo, McBride, Masterson, McCoy, Middleton, Moak, Montgomery (15th), Moore (100th), Myers, Nettles, Nicholson, Peranich, Pierce, Reeves, Robertson, Robinson (84th), Rotenberry, Scott (17th), Scott (80th), Snowden, Stevens, Straughter, Stringer, Taylor, Thomas, Wallace, Wells-Smith, West, Whittington, Woods

House Concurrent Resolution 50

(As Adopted by House and Senate)


WHEREAS, on June 26 through July 4, 1999, Mississippi's delegation of 83 athletes, coaches and support delegates competed in Raleigh and Chapel Hill, North Carolina and St. Mary's City, Maryland, at the 1999 Special Olympics World Summer Games; and

WHEREAS, Mississippi's athletes competed in track, in field, aquatics, badminton, basketball, bocce, bowling, equestrian, golf, gymnastics, powerlifting, roller skating, unified sailing and unified volleyball; and

WHEREAS, through great strength and spirit, these athletes won 29 gold medals, 16 silver medals, 16 bronze medals, 27 4th Place Ribbons, 16 5th Place Ribbons, 2 6th Place Ribbons, 3 7th Place Ribbons and 2 8th Place Ribbons; and

WHEREAS, through their participation in Special Olympics these marvelous individuals are afforded an opportunity and are encouraged to develop their physical and mental skills, demonstrate courage, experience joy and participate in the sharing of gifts of skills and friendship with their families, other Special Olympics athletes and the community; and

WHEREAS, in Special Olympics the emphasis is not upon the physical strength, speed or endurance of the human body, but upon their faith, spirit and determination that bespeaks the true character and worth of all human beings; and

WHEREAS, Mississippi's Special Olympics athletes were coached and inspired by Terry Shinall, Head of Delegation; John Turner, Assistant Head of Delegation; Beth Sojourner, Sydney Leonard, Arlene Brass, Cindy Peterson, Debbie Waller, Connie Robinson, Cindy Holley, Freddy Townsend, Chris Rodgers, Keith Bounds, Becky Johnson, Mary Ingram, Ron Mucha, Jennifer Seas, Debbie Nance, Mark Addy, Becky Wells and Tyson Pound; and

WHEREAS, Mississippi's Special Olympics delegation also included Mayor Bob Short, Helen Parish, Janie Allen, Shannon Polk and Keri Redeker; and

WHEREAS, Mississippi's Special Olympics delegation was supported by numerous family members, Area Directors and many other dedicated volunteers; and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of this Legislature to recognize and commend excellence, especially when evidenced by the citizens of this state:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE SENATE CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend the Special Olympics Mississippi Team for their outstanding achievements and extend best wishes for all their future endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to the members of the Mississippi Special Olympics Mississippi Team and to members of the Capitol Press Corps.