1999 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Turner, Canon

Senate Concurrent Resolution 602

(As Adopted by Senate and House)


WHEREAS, to be successful in today's world, young people need to develop problem-solving techniques; and

WHEREAS, one place students can learn this valuable skill, as well as creativity and teamwork, is by participating in the Odyssey of the Mind program; and

WHEREAS, this program focuses on the development of self confidence, resourcefulness, leadership and risk taking, being the largest worldwide creative problem-solving competition for children; and

WHEREAS, Odyssey of the Mind is an international program that challenges students to think both logically and creatively as they work together in teams consisting of five to seven members; and

WHEREAS, the teams are allowed to choose between five different "problems," which are newly created each year, in which to compete; and

WHEREAS, nine teams from Lee Middle School competed in the Regional Competition at Morton, Mississippi, on March 21, 1998, out of which five teams qualified to participate in the State Finals in Ridgeland, Mississippi, held on April 4, 1998; and

WHEREAS, an incredible three Lee Middle School teams took top honors, going on to Walt Disney World in May to compete against the 6,000 brightest and most creative young minds from 48 states, the District of Columbia and 30 foreign countries at the World Finals; and

WHEREAS, scoring for each team includes the judges' evaluations of a team's solutions to one of the five problems, each team's individual enhancement of the solution, and what is called "spontaneous": a problem which is presented to the team on the day of competition; and

WHEREAS, the culminating activity of the three-day competition was the closing ceremony, where the top six teams were recognized; and

WHEREAS, the "Marvelous Mentor" team, consisting of Kim Caraig, Kerry Ellis, Lindsey Kempton, Richard Lancaster, Eileen Tagdulang and Kristy Watkins, took first place by a margin of 38 points; and

WHEREAS, the other two teams that competed had solid finishes: "Pageant Wagon," consisting of Brent Burge, Sarah Conroy, Elizabeth Davidson, Justin Davis, Gaby McCallister, Bess Pearson and Lauren Vanderpool, came in 13th, and "Create and Animate," consisting of J.B. Brewcyznski, Jack Catton, Adele Champlin, Zach Foster, Stephanie LaBella, Jared Stork and Eric Tipton, finished 17th; and

WHEREAS, in the history of Mississippi's participation in Odyssey of the Mind, only one other team has placed first:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Marvelous Mentors, Pageant Wagon and Create and Animate Odyssey of the Mind teams of Lee Middle School.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That we do hereby commend each of the student members of those teams and all of Lee Middle School for providing an environment that fosters such creativity and achievement, the school administration, all the teams' teacher and parent coaches and supporters, and we encourage these students to keep the flame of learning, creativity and originality burning.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be presented to each student and to the Principal of Lee Middle School.