1998 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Senator(s) Hamilton, Jordan (18th)

Senate Concurrent Resolution 581

(As Adopted by Senate and House)


WHEREAS, the Ackerman High School Football Team finished the 1997 season with an outstanding record of 15 wins and 0 losses, which is the most wins ever for the Ackerman Football Team in one season and the first undefeated and untied football season since the 1947 Ackerman Championship Football Team; and

WHEREAS, the Ackerman High School Football Team capped the 1997 season by winning the Class 2-A South State Championship and the Class 2-A State Championship; and

WHEREAS, the diligent effort of these fine young men enabled them to fully tap their athletic abilities and achieve their season objectives; and

WHEREAS, the superb play of the team should be attributed to all members of the team, including Antwan Shell (All-District), Manquel Miller, Brad Huffman, Luke Jones, Montez Kirkwood, Alan Harwell, Ryan Hunt, James Liddell, Chad Fondren (All-District), Cornelius Davis, Brian Miller, Adam Berry, Curtis Robinson (All- District), Kris Bell, Andrew Curtis, Anthony Miller, Trey Cobb, Kenneth Kirkwood (All-District), Marcus Beasley (All-District), Joey Johnson, Carlos Brown, Michael Watson (All-District), Quint King, Clay Mason, Wesley Halford, Bryan Shumaker (All-District), Will Cooper, Travis Coffey, Keith Brown, Andre Esters (All-District), Juston Reed, Adam McDill (All-District), Gary Turner (All-District), Adam King, Prentiss Cork, Michael Montgomery (All-District), Forest Griffin, Tommy Robinson, Willie Miller, Allen Martin, Conner Stephens (All-District); and

WHEREAS, the Ackerman High School Football Team has been superbly coached and inspired by Head Coach Ricky Woods and Assistant Coaches Curtis Ford, Ken Chandler, Morgan Scribner, Shane Burton, Nathan Wright and Adam Dillinger, who have broadened the players' knowledge of the game and refined their skills in execution; and

WHEREAS, the Ackerman High School Football Team played together as a team with a winning and cooperative spirit and a high degree of sportsmanship; and

WHEREAS, it is the policy of the Legislature to commend the outstanding achievements of the youth of this state:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE SENATE OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES CONCURRING THEREIN, That we do hereby commend and congratulate the Ackerman High School Football Team for its outstanding 1997 season and for displaying tireless devotion to its athletic endeavors.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Ackerman High School and be made available to the Capitol Press Corps.