1998 Regular Session

To: Rules

By: Representative Williams

House Resolution 24


WHEREAS, Tate County, Mississippi, established in December 1873, is located in an area of gently rolling fertile farmland in the extreme northwest corner of the state and is celebrating its 125th Anniversary; and

WHEREAS, records reveal that land in northern Mississippi had belonged to the Chickasaw Nation until the Pontotoc Treaty of 1832; and

WHEREAS, in 1836, this land was divided by the Mississippi Legislature, creating ten counties, three of which were DeSoto, Marshall and Tunica Counties; and

WHEREAS, in December of 1873, these three neighboring counties were reduced in size, and Tate County was one of the new counties created; and

WHEREAS, originally a rest camp on the Choctaw Indian Trail between what is now Pontotoc, Mississippi, and Helena, Arkansas, the Town of Senatobia, in the south central portion of the new Tate County, became the county seat, and two years later in 1875, under the direction of J. H. Cooke, the present day courthouse was constructed; and

WHEREAS, as a result of spending the winter in Tate County, settlers from Virginia, the Carolinas, Georgia and northern Alabama on their way west made permanent homes in the community; and

WHEREAS, present day Tate County is a proud and active community, and it progressively addresses the areas of citizenship, education, agriculture, industry, recreation and economic growth for its citizens:

NOW, THEREFORE, BE IT RESOLVED BY THE HOUSE OF REPRESENTATIVES OF THE STATE OF MISSISSIPPI, That we commend and congratulate Tate County on the celebration of its 125th Anniversary.

BE IT FURTHER RESOLVED, That copies of this resolution be furnished to Tate County and the Capitol Press Corps.